This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Dragons Part 1

The following are some of my favorite dragons with ink pen that I have done so far. They are cleanest and have strongest features that define the dragons' character. Tomorrow I will share the other attempts and explain what I would do differently about them. Then there will be another post with even more dragons done with a regular old blue writing pen- my first dragons for this project. Let me know if you would just prefer just to see more drawings or if you would like to read more about the thoughts behind the drawings :)
A lot of these drawings were done in a tiny A5 sketchbook. I started with A5 because it's less daunting to get started than a big blank paper. Afterwards I photographed each drawing and digitally colored the background for much stronger contrast and added some shading.
I was always fascinated by dragons especially since I saw The Last Dragon when I was 11 on TV. However, over time most dragons started all looking similar, "How to Train Your Dragon" was a great deviation from the traditional lizard dragons. With this project I am trying to explore as many variations of designs and I will try to expand styles and mediums. I began this project last year and it is still ongoing.

This is Desdemon


IMG_5727b.jpg

It is a nocturnal dragon that has eyes that glow softly in the dark. It eats berries and sweeter leaves. I doesn't grow very tall, roughly 75 cm or 2,5 feet and favorite food is wild strawberries and has a great sense of smell.
This was my first ink pen dragon, which inspired many more. It was heavily inspired by Burtonesque style, but eventually I evolved it. Before that I was hesitant to use black ink pens, because the ink can easily penetrate the paper, and it's much harder to fix mistakes. (Used a 0.2 pigment ink pen)

Spyritoh


IMG_5549c.jpg
Pony sized dragon. Cute but mischievous. Loves tugging on hair and playing with its food.

IMG_5494B.jpg

Process: First I outlined the pencil sketch with an ink pen. Then I accentuated the important details, while
the rest were ignored. This way the dragon is more recognizable without having to draw every single strand of fur or each scale. Sometimes I draw more freely without doing the outline first.

Rubyfer


IMG_5731b.jpg

Loves red gems and sometimes red glass. Uses its sharp teeth to reshape the stones into new shapes. Those stones are then used to attract a companion. Also loves stealing medium necklace gems which are perfect size.

Gweeber


IMG_5751b.jpg

A chameleon cousin. Has sharp claws for climbing and communicates with the rest through colorful flames.
They can mate with ordinary chameleons resulting in either 100% gweebs or chameleons, never a hybrid.

Lebud


IMG_5590d.jpg

This is the original dragonfly. It is very small and fast. It generally lives on lotuses, occasionally in the reeds. They eat mosquitos and occasionally the insect dragonflies. (The design a crossover of a dragonfly and a swan. )

Merdrake


IMG_5844c.jpg

A deep sea and ocean creature also known as the mythical sea monster. From a distance it may be confused for a snake and the fin might be dismissed as a trick of the light. It swims very fast. Also loves sand and prefers to sleep under it.

Minimakrila


IMG_5795b.jpg
These dragons live in high altitudes and use their wings for balance rather than flight. The eat tiny prey and sometimes plants. Extremely friendly with humans. Some are known to bond with nomads for many generations.

Original without retouching
IMG_5795.JPG

And finally some dragon eggs


IMG_5606c.jpg

If you enjoyed this post please share, upvote and don't forget to follow! :D