Toxic teacher can't learn - my way to other study group

Hi, guys!

The next courses of computer graphics have started today. Well, more precisely, courses in drawing, digital. I really hope that this time I will be lucky with the teacher, and he will not be such a pompous turkey, as the previous one was. Seriously, this person left the worst possible impression of himself. Instead of teaching, he mostly insulted students and talked about how cool he was (no).

image.png
This wise master Yoda told I should quit toxic study.

Therefore, I interrupted my studies at concept art courses and switched to a course where they teach promotional illustrations. I really hope that this time everything will be fine, the teacher will be good, and I will finish my studies to the end. If the courses were short, I would not be very worried about the personality of the teacher, but since the training lasts six months, it is important to work with a person you like.

The previous teacher gave lectures in such a way that nothing was really clear. We left with a huge number of questions that could not really be asked, because we only received even more vague answers to them. Where does it go?

Today I started watching the lectures of the teacher who will teach me a course of promo illustration. At first glance, he seems to be a much nicer person than the previous one, and I hope that this first impression will turn out to be correct. It seems that everything is clear to me, it seems that he explains really well. But it will still be very important to see him in live communication, in live, not pre-recorded lectures.

Tomorrow there will be an introductory stream where the teacher gets to know the students. I am looking forward to it, as I really want to make sure that this time the teacher's personality will not interfere with learning.

When I was still in concept art, I complained to my guru about how the teacher was behaving. She said that this was unacceptable and advised me to just copy the course program and independently search for materials on the Internet, for each item. I can’t say that this is bad advice, on the contrary, it’s great, but the fact is that there is no feedback during self-study, and for me it is very important that it is.

Remember, 2 posts ago I told you how I drew an elf (picture below), and how I could not understand what was wrong with him, although I clearly saw that something was very wrong?

image.png

I then wrote to a girl I know who is teaching digital portraiture with fantasy elements. She corrected my work in several lines, and it immediately became clear to me where to go next. And initially it was completely impossible.

Below I will show a video showing the process of creating this work. By looking carefully, you can see the moment after which the work began to look much better. This was the very moment when Anna corrected my sketch, pointing out the mistakes.

image.png

image.png
Besides the fact that I was wrong with the size of the head, I was also wrong with the height of the shoulders. But as soon as I removed the extra volumes, everything immediately fell into place.

Another difficult moment for me in drawing a portrait (for now) is drawing hair. You need to imagine the direction of their growth, and when you draw from fantasy, and not from life, it can be difficult. Here Anya also helped me a little, showing the direction of growth that was logical for this character.

And here is a video where you can see the process and clearly notice the moment when I fixed the mistakes:

Today I am planning to start the first assignment in my new training courses, and I hope that everything will be successful. Then tomorrow I can write an informative post about the first steps in drawing, because I decided to go back to the very beginning, and this time not to miss anything.

Previously, I have already taken courses in which they taught drawing from scratch. But, apparently, at that time I was not ready to perceive information qualitatively, because I did not have a foundation for this knowledge. Now it is, and there is even a house on it, but there are holes in this house that need to be filled. Then it will immediately become stronger and more beautiful.

And now meet continuation of my book:) You can find the beginning in two previous posts:

"The village in which they landed smelled through and through of fish. The hungry travelers hoped to find an inn, at worst, a tavern, and after only an hour of searching, luck smiled at them. Mark immediately began to flirt with the pretty hostess.

-And what is such a beauty doing in such a wilderness?

The woman smiled with satisfaction, giving the half-elf a promising look.

-I grew up here, my whole family is here, where else can I be? And you, as I see it, warriors ... ”She glanced sideways at Felix and Bereznik. The paladins nodded in unison.
-I am a warrior too, -Mark winked at her and stroked the shoulder of his bow, -Maybe I can win your heart?

-Maybe, and it will work, -the woman sat down next to the rogue, -You know, the village is restless now, and you look like people who could help.

-What's wrong? Who needs to be reassured?

-Something howls around, at night. They say some kind of beast. We sent several squads to investigate, but none returned.

The travelers looked at each other. A strange business, but it sounded interesting, at least more interesting than hanging around waiting for the unknown.
-I would like more details, -druid sat down at a table with Mark and the hostess, -First, let's at least get to know each other. I'm Lars.

"Ursula," the woman held out her hand for a kiss, but the druid did not seem to notice. But the half-elf noticed, and immediately pressed his lips to her.

-And your hands are magical.

-Yes, magic hands, maybe they will conjure us some food? Hungry as a wolf, the dwarf plopped down on the bench next to Lars.

-Sure. What do you prefer? Ursula asked.

-Looks like you have a fish town. Surely there are some seafood specialties.

The elf sitting next to him winced.

-And preferably something other than fish.

-There is a chicken. Will it suit you?

Damian nodded.

Ursula placed several jugs of beer and wine in front of them, then brought the promised food. After waiting for everyone to appreciate her cooking, she spoke again.

-Howling is heard mainly at night. The villagers have not let their children play alone for a long time. As I said, we have sent several detachments to scout, but there are no skilled warriors in the village. Nobody came back, everyone was gone.

-Did you send the villagers with a pitchfork? And a few more times? The dwarf asked in surprise, -And why didn’t they turn to the capital for help?
Ursula shrugged.

-The powers that be do not care about our wilderness. The fact that howling among the rocks does not let their children sleep - and okay."

See you in the next post!
Love, Inber

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency