Inspiration kills (Joking:)

Hi, guys!

Yesterday I started a new painting, but sadly I can't yet show it to you - it's still to be finished.

Tricky how our inspiration works. You can for long months force yourself to do something, and than a wave comes out of blue and you're already under it, unable to stop. That's what happened with me yesterday. I was creating next character for comic book, this time my character in the DnD campaign, and all of a sudden I decided that I need not only line art with simple coloring, but full promo art, real illustration.

I dream about it for long time, and actually my Demian was the one who influenced on my portrait skills a lot. Exactly my will to draw him made me practice over and over again, till I finally succeeded and my portraits started look great.

But still, till yesterday I mainly did that all with markers (I use copic markers), and seldom in digital, but this time I decided that I need a full digital great portrait. And got to work.

As usual I started with line art, gathered some references, and got to coloring. But something was very wrong, and I couldn't understand, what exactly. Than a thought came to my mind - hey, I can show my work to a fellow artist, who's really great in portrait art, she will tell me, what went wrong.

And something really did:) You can call me Pablo now, cause again I drew nose in full face foreshortening, and whole face - in 3/4. I fixed that with shading, but still something was wrong. Than I understood that his right shoulder was far higher than left one, and fixed that as well.

I worked for nearly nine hours, and than was too tired and went to bed. Today I yet didn't open the drawing, but I hope everything is OK there:) And I hope tomorrow I will be ready to show it:)
And hey, I finished my swamp monster:)

image.png

See you in the next post!
Love, Inber

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency