Art by Harrison Kainoa 017: An American Street Corner


An American Street Corner

Watercolor + Pen & Ink


While I was traveling around New Jersey,  I happened across this intersection that really reminded me of all of the quintessential elements of the "Americana" feel. The street signs, The Marlboro cigarette sign, the gas station sign, etc. etc. which are all pretty much represents more or less American town.

I first lightly sketched out the scene with pencil, and then gently pen & inked the outlines of the major objects and scenery.

I then went in with watercolor and shaded areas and colors for the background and foreground objects of varying degree.

Notice how expensive a pack of cigarettes is in the US, at $5.75 per pack!

Plus at the time I painted this, gasoline was also quite expensive for New Jersey up to $2.67 per gallon (usually should be around $1.25 per gallon).


-------------------------------

Thanks for checking out my artwork. What do you think?


Follow me @hustletoparadise to stay up to date on future Art by Harrison Kainoa and check out my other artwork.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now