Printing my art and decorating my boring wall

DSCF8493.jpg


I've really been wanting to print my art and put them on the wall since 2021 lol but I haven't done so because of the printing cost and the anxiety of other people printing my art (or any personal pics really) is kinda awkward.

Since getting my own photo printer, I've been printing whatever stuff comes to my mind. XD It gave me an opportunity to print my works! :D



DSCF8078.jpg

I am experimenting on papers lately since I have no idea what type of paper and which brands are better. In this photo I used mostly Orions premium high gloss photo papers and the ones with my photographs are satin variant of the same brand. I was looking for brands like Canon, Epson, Kodak, etc. but for some reason they don't have it in the local bookstore I went to. I guess there are a lot cheaper brands out there that can give the same quality so they're not as popular anymore unlike years ago.



DSCF8085.jpg

This is printed on satin photo paper and I can't decide if it is better than glossy lol. They both look so gorgeous. I can say maybe satin looks more elegant and expensive than high gloss papers.



DSCF8089.jpg

In my couple of prints, I can say that paper matters A LOT. These prints turned out gorgeous and really vivid colors not only because of the printer but also because of the quality of the paper that I used. If you have a great printer but shit quality of paper, it will definitely turn out looking like shit because it's the paper that's gonna hold the ink.

I tried the same print settings and photo on different papers and one performed a lot better than the other despite coming from the same printer. This is how printing can get expensive so it's important to know the proper print setting for each type of paper as to not waste ink or papers.



Screenshot 2024-01-03 105141.png



DSCF8458.jpg

After printing, I thought Hell yeahhh let's go stick it on the wall! but I realized it wasn't easy. I never thought I would need to plan the layout on the wall to not waste time and so it would look good. Like curating your art gallery wall.



DSCF8501.jpg

DSCF8497.jpg

I used Elmer's glue Tac N Stik adhesive gum since it's pretty straightforward and leaves no mess on the wall. These aren't permanent and we don't own the wall so it's not smart to put the prints in frames and drill holes there. :p



DSCF8503.jpg

It's not perfectly aligned and I am okay with it. I am letting go of perfectionism since it's not good for me and just unnecessary so as long as they stick on the wall I'm good. No point obsessing on the alignment.



DSCF8490.jpg

It feels a bit weird at first seeing all the different colors on the previously white wall but I like it. I love seeing my works on the wall since I need to be reminded on how the art looks like so there will be consistency which I prefer and it's easier to get ideas from previous works.

I need some rewiring for my brain cos I developed a lot of self destructive thoughts and this will help me with my goals. Before, I thought having your art or whatever on the walls or as screensavers/wallpapers are corny and cringe haha but it really shouldn't be that way. I liked the minimalist clean look before but I prefer it this way now since it helps me get reminded of the work that I've done and will help me move forward.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency