I'm shipping my paintings to France

E2lN7m2UYAM4PyI.jpg



I'm finally shipping these paintings for an exhibit in Paris, France! Having an international exhibit is a long dream of mine and I've never expected it to come this soon. And yeah, this will be my first international exhibit so I'm so stoked!



Packing :p


This is also my first time shipping a painting outside the country so I did a lot of research for the costs and for the proper way of packing them.


IMG_2411.jpg


Due to the pandemic, supplies are short and movements are limited also and combine it with a curfew + me being nocturnal. It took me quite some time to prepare for it and find all the things I need.



IMG_2416.jpg


The best paper to cover the paintings is the one called glassine. I don't know where to find it and at the same time I don't find it at stores so I just bought parchment papers as an alternative but they only come in a letter size. I just taped them altogether.

Of course there's someone ''helping'' me with my work.



IMG_2414.jpg


This technique is what I learned from Agora Gallery's How to safely pack paintings for shipping. You fold the tape at the end so you'll be able to pull it easily later when it's time to unpack. Pretty smart haha.



IMG_2418.jpg


The bubble wrap that I bought is only this wide LOL I didn't check it when I bought it and I was also too tired to buy another so I just used this anyway.



IMG_2420.jpg


After adding enough bubble wraps, I wrapped it with a box to finalize it.

I shipped it through FedEx International (2GO) to the address the organizers gave me. The cost is so expensive T_T It was almost $600 just to ship it but the estimated time of arrival is 1-2 weeks which is just enough for a stress-free shipping.

I also checked the estimate for DHL but it's the same price. I didn't expect it would be this expensive to ship paintings even with this size but well, it's a risk I'm willing to make.

Despite all of that, I'm still glad I'm up for an exhibition in Paris, France. The event place is at the heart of Paris too which is really nice. And the experience will for sure be good for my portfolio and overall artist experience haha!

Hopefully more physical international exhibits will happen for me this year and I also want to work on with some NFTs + physical which is a long-planned stuff already.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments
Ecency