This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Japanese Store Gouache Watercolor (Art Blog)

Hello! Yesterday was my grandfather's burial but I would not be talking about it for now. I just want to share to you some of the thoughts that are running inside my mind while sharing to you one of my recent artworks.

My job application for this specific government agency has been taking almost a year already and I had been very anxious and furious. We were informed that we might be starting at the beginning of 2021, but it is April already. The process was so tiring and tedious and honestly, I am feeling that the previous selection they made was futile. I do not want to think that what happened was just for a show but that's what I am feeling right now and for the past few days.

Anyway, I have decided to pursue/continue my freelancing journey. I am still tutoring my cousin, Athena. I must say, online classes suck a lot especially for young learners who need exposure and social activities.

My job as a tutor to my cousin has really been a blessing to me. Of course, I wanted a stable job but due to the existence of the pandemic, I could not pursue a teaching job overseas. Although the pay I receive from being a tutor to my cousin does not suffice all my needs, at least I have money to spare.

Another thing that has been added on my schedule is that I teach reading and writing to a six year old kid. My student's name is Sowon. She is a half-Korean and a half-Filipino, a daughter of my friend Summer.

Summer used to be my art student as well. We see everyday in the afternoon before and I teach her art. The cute thing about it is that she has ended up with an artist after our series of meetings.

Anyhow, I see Sowon every morning, Monday to Friday. I also teach her art or we bond through art when there is still some time left.

Speaking of art, I will share to you now one of my works. I am feeling so hyped right now because I am typing using my father's laptop. As I mentioned few months ago, I broke mine. Hopefully, I could save up enough money from my freelancing jobs and be able to by a Macbook. The cheapest in the market would work perfectly fine for me.

20210309_230313.jpg

So, that photo above it the final product. I used watercolor for preliminaries and then gouache watercolor for finalizing this artwork. As you can see, I used a page of my watercolor paper. That is Canson by the way.

Process

Please take note that I use a reference that I saw over IG or Instagram for this one. I just happen to accidentally delete it.

20210306_223736.jpg

Because there are a lot of lines involved in this artwork, I decided to sketch it out first. I used a mechanical pencil and avoided erasures. Anyway,the mistakes I made in sketching would be covered with gouache.

20210309_192819.jpg

Aside from the watercolor I used for preliminaries, I used this Marie's Gouache Watercolor. I love this more than Himi because it does not mold.

![20210309_194545.jpg](
After putting light blue watercolor, I decided to put a light blue gouache paint. I find it easier to paint the background first and then paint the subject.

20210309_194730.jpg

I used a subtle green for this one then for the ground. Do not worry, the other colors would cover this up in areas with different colors.

20210309_195531.jpg

After painting the background, I decided to paint the upper portion of the two buildings. I used white gouache paint with a hint of flesh.I also used yellow ochre for the main building and soms pink orange mixed with a hint of white gouache.

20210309_202806.jpg

20210309_203716.jpg

20210309_203822.jpg

As you can see, I painted the tree with different shades of green for its foliage. I was also painting the main building as you can see.

20210309_205549.jpg

Mixing the desired colors has took me longer hours to work on this artwork. You could see I started defining the main building by adding small details which I thought would create a nice overall impression.

20210309_210725.jpg

I used a line brush for the very small details. It was quite tiring but at the same time satisfying to see the process I had been making.

20210309_211838.jpg

After working with the details on the second floor, I started working with the first floor beginning with the signboard for the shop/ building.

20210309_220928.jpg

As you can see, I had been doing a lot of backpaintings because for me it is easier to do it and gouache as an art medium is a forgiving medium.

20210309_222116.jpg

20210309_224453.jpg

I was then working on the appliances that were being sold by this store. Mixing was okay, the only thing I was having a hard time was applying the tiny details using gouache and paint.

20210309_225307.jpg

And here comes the other minute details that are making a lot of difference in my work.

20210309_225835.jpg

And now I am done! It is just a small artwork but I swear it was time consuming. The small details are so mind-boggling, but as you can see, I was able to make it through. This is just like our lives, we think the small things do not make any difference, but in a bigger picture and when we try to view it, we could see the differences these would make.

Love,
Johanna Gail


Johanna Gail H. Tongco or also known as gailbelga is a licensed professional teacher working on various fields. She took her bachelors degree at Xavier University - Ateneo de Cagayan, taking up Bachelor of Arts in International Studies. She also completed her Academic Requirements in Masters in Public Administration and had her Certificate of Teaching in University of Sciences and Technology of Southern Philippines.
She loves to work as an art teacher during summer -- sharing her expertise in art to young minds. She also loves to tutor students and make learning worthwhile. On the other hand, she works as a young leader in various organizations such as the Young Centrists Union. She also volunteers in one of the chapters of JCI or Junior Chamber International.
She always dreamed of creating her dream art studio and wish to inspire young minds to be more creative.