Watch my pin-up inspired painting come to life in 3mins - Process and time-lapse for Poison Ivy - Deadly Divas series

So a while back, I had this idea to do a pin up inspired series of super hero and villain paintings staring the iconic comic book figures that I loved, and decided to title this series "Deadly Divas"

I wanted to make them sexy and playful and represent them in scenarios that you might seem them in, in their everyday lives

So I started off with Poison Ivy and began my initial sketch  trying out different ideas and scenarios until I finally came up with the one I liked the most.


I transferred this to my watercolour paper added some masking fluid to the section I didn't want the paint to cover and started off on the initial washes, trying to establish the form and get a nice base layer to build upon

Masking fluid is a great tool to use when you want to preserve the white of the paper without having to paint around those areas, it dries to a light blue colour and can easily be removed by peeling it off.


Next, I started working on her suit to build up the greens, painted her lips and did some work on her pretty eyes.


Now its time to paint in the background with washes of green and using water and coarse salt to give it some texture. I choose to go with a red for the watering can to add some contrast to the piece and used some bright hot pink for the hearts around the ivy vine.


And here she is all finished and ready to kick some ass and premiere in her own time-lapse video which you can watch below. I was able to find a song that I think fit perfectly with her personality and the pin up inspired theme of the piece.





If you enjoy my work, please click this button to go on, you know you want to!

Also check out my work on the below sites, just click and away you go :)



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center