This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Alice and the Caterpillar

Entry for ART EXPLOSION 82: PSYCHEDELICS

20200210_alice_001_8.resized.png

I'm not very familiar with psychedelic art, and I usually work with either a somewhat-realistic or limited color palette, so this seemed like an interesting challenge. I've also never had any psychedelic experiences, but I am familiar with Alice in Wonderland and all the drug stuff in those books, so that's what I decided to go with. Specifically, Alice meeting the hookah-smoking caterpillar surrounded by the crazy mushrooms, which sounds psychedelic enough for me.

Materials:
Krita, an open-source art program

Process:
First I did some rough thumbnails on paper to figure out composition

image.jpg

Then, digital sketches and lines

alice_sketches.png

Then I did very rough colors

alice_paint1.png

At this point I posted a closeup of Alice in the faces post I made a few days ago. I also took a break to do a drawing for valentine's day.

Then I painted the mushrooms and finally the caterpillar. Mostly I'd been procrastinating on working on the caterpillar because I felt like it would be hard and annoying, haha. It actually wasn't too bad.

alice_paint2.png

Then everything else, finished caterpillar, final mushroom, ground, etc. for the final piece

20200210_alice_001_8.resized.png

So yeah, overall I'm fairly happy with this piece and it was a good exercise for me in using lots of colors.

Thanks for looking!