Galaxy Gal with Colored Pencils

IMG_20200727_135217_527.jpg

This is my "Galaxy Gal" drawing in a nice new frame! I have been loving my colored pencils lately. I really like using them on toned paper, because it makes the colors pop, and i can draw the highlights and shadows, rather than having to work around the highlights. For the past few years I have been working solely on abstract geometric pieces and imaginary landscapes. I recently felt inspired to start drawing people again. For some reason, people seem less intimidating to draw when the colors are not realistic. I enjoyed playing with the lighting and colors on her face, and making it contrast with the solid earrings and starry hair.

Materials: Prismacolor premier pencils, Sakura white gel pen, Strathmore toned paper

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency