SWAPPING RABBITS!

I'll trade you one good buck for another!


These days, I'm getting a little particular. When it comes to my rabbits, I'm actually breeding for color now, so I made a trade with my neighbors recently.

A RABBIT SWAP!

Not all that long ago, we changed our diet and got away from eating things like rabbits. They still have some uses and purposes on our homestead, so we will still be keeping some, but we will no longer be eating them. That said, I am also having some fun now breeding for color traits. Since our neighbors @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood also breed rabbits, and since they had one that was a color I desired, I recently worked out a trade. This buck (male) above was completely unrelated to their rabbits, so it was the one that I traded to them.

The "natural" color is the one that I'm currently breeding for. This is our natural colored doe (female) who we have been breeding. You'll notice that in a lot of ways, she almost looks like a wild rabbit.

The buck that we bread her with last time was this one, who has a lot of natural coloration, but also had some white on him. When they got married and bred, we had some nice coloration in their offspring.

This daughter of theirs looks a lot like her father, but some others were completely the natural color. There were some black and white ones in that litter too, and it is always interesting to see which colors show up in the next generation, since the parents can carry genes that don't necessarily show up visually.

The buck that we got from @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood in the trade was a solid natural colored one. Here is a photo of him meeting our doe. Hopefully soon they will get married and have some kids, and then we will see what they look like. It's just a fun hobby and an opportunity to teach our @little-peppers about genetics and things. We will see what happens.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-swapping-rabbits

Until next time…

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmSKT3AhEpV8JXA2eaE1HQPogXev5rzG4uxMzTi3ieE3Tc

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now