RE: The Daily Meme #214!

Is your dad still alive?

No, 8 years ago he packed it in.
Kinda a bum deal, but of his own doing.
He made it to 78.

The idea of total unification, if you really think about it intensely just once, turns out to be a complete impossibility.

Yes, if fully implemented my utopia could be viewed as the worst slavery.
This is why it is important to carry the bums.
We carry them now, except we also carry the bums that keep their paperwork done.
Better, imo, to just let the bums take what they need.
It'd be cheaper in the long run because their bureaucrats could do something more productive than babysit bums.

beautiful idealisation of this idea.

I bet 9 out of 10 random people you ask would deny the possiblity.

it is therefore only logical that such an attitude to life can only ever come from the individual, who will encounter different reactions and, if he is lucky, will reach some imitators and lucky devils who seek to aspire to the freedom motto, alongside those who react differently.

Seems to be where we are.
Been this way since Looking Backwards came out in 1887.

Though I would propose that up until after ww2 people did live in these types of communities.
Out here on the plains you needed your neighbors to trade with and help defend from
roving marauders.
That has since been fractured by factory work and corporate big box stores.

Fiction that tries to approach this ideal in a less absurd but more serious way

I think the absurdity is all around us.
I am clearly trapped in a farce by characters that buy in enough to be comfortable in the illusion.

I read "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" in my mid-twenties and laughed my way through all the parts.

I've read that, 42 is the answer to everything.
I forget why, but I remember that much.

Sci-fi has always been my favorite.
Mission Earth by L. Ron Hubbard is a good read, if you can find it.
Battlefield Earth was much better in the book form.
I don't remember any earth changing ideas in them, but they were entertaining enough.

I often forget that people have more accounts than one.

I should work it more, but it was intended to be taken care of by someone else that has failed to materialize.
I put some pics up today.
I caught the local hawks menacing the ducks.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency