RE: RE: Anarchapulco Family Camp Pow Wow on Indoctrination Systems, Unschooling and Entrepreneurship
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anarchapulco Family Camp Pow Wow on Indoctrination Systems, Unschooling and Entrepreneurship

RE: Anarchapulco Family Camp Pow Wow on Indoctrination Systems, Unschooling and Entrepreneurship

I can see why some make disparaging remarks about Jeff. Everyone has a voice and many feel that they want to be heard, but sometimes there are just too many voices and not enough time. Those who feel silenced then blame the perceived "ringleader" for the failure to be heard. It's a twisted form of "hero worship" that isn't demanded by the target, but rather foisted upon same.

I read a lot of comic books when I was young, back when they cost 25 cents or less, and many of them educated me as much as any school learning did. To this I cherish my copy of "Strange Tales #179" which introduced the "hero", Adam Warlock, as someone who quite vociferously refused to lead and instead counselled those whom he benefitted to "rule themselves". It was the beginning of my awakening toward anarchist thought and also the first time I read anything disparaging the idea of hero worship. Lessons I keep close to my heart and mind to this day.

FWIW, Adam Warlock played the primary role in what would become the "infinity Gauntlet" story, which has now made Marvel Entertainment into a theatrical juggernaut. Yet in the movies, Adam Warlock never appeared. I wonder why? :)

Strange Tales #179 is available for free reading here:

https://readcomiconline.li/Comic/Strange-Tales-1951/Issue-179?id=33295#1

it's a fairly well contained story and you don't have to have any previous knowledge of the characters to understand it. Should be read by all those who fail to understand the conept of individual freedom.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center