This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

What Selling T-Shirts On Amazon Is Teaching Me About American Culture

"Sure I can sell t-shirts!" I said to myself as I embarked on Merch By Amazon.

Think about it, Americans love iPhones, hamburgers, hip hop, and their families – they're the same as the rest of us. Yes. But when it comes to t-shirts, they're very different. Very, very different.

By the way, I'm from the UK originally – the country closest culturally to the US than any other in Europe. Yet sometimes, Americans seem like they're from another planet when it comes to t-shirt design.

And to make matters worse, it's the women who are buying the t-shirts more than men. And I'm a man.

So... I spend part of my day thinking like an American woman.

audrey-hepburn-distressed-american-flag.jpg

It ain't easy.

Finding peoples' passions

I could make t-shirts about the latest American hashtag, or Trump, or whatever's in the news at the moment. But I don't ever watch the news so I can't.

So, I decided to keep it positive and to make t-shirts about the things that Americans are passionate about. Their hobbies, their occupations, and their families.

make up artist.jpg

The above t-shirt sold. But just once. :(

Americans are very patriotic

I've discovered by researching popular shirts that if you combine absolutely anything with an American flag on it, it'll sell.

conservative extreme american flag shirt.jpg

And when researching the American flag t-shirts, I got a taste of the divisions and unhappiness that is inside the country at the moment.

Again, remember I'm from the UK and that the UK has the exact same divisions and unhappiness, I'm not claiming any cultural supremacy here. But it's an interesting window to look through (from the comfort of my Chiang Mai condo).

Anyway, I thought I'd try to buck the trend ...

gay american flag.jpg

No sales so far.

So what have I sold?

Crypto shirts

OK, this is Steemit so I've got to talk about crypto. Crypto shirts sell, especially when the price is rising.

satoshi-bitcoin-tshirt.jpg

The above is my crypto bestseller. It's a kind of "in joke". Crypto enthusiasts will get it. Others will just think it's a cool shirt.

However, some times I'm really surprised at what sells...

Thailand

Here's a shirt I made as a joke:

farang-tshirt.jpg

"Farang" or ฝรั่ง in Thai sort of means "European" or "non-Asian foreigner". Only Thais or people who have visited Thailand will understand the word. And yet it's selling. Who the heck is buying it? I've no idea.

American cultural learnings make benefit the glorious Steemit

I could go on and on but I'm getting tired and there's a bottle of Chang here that's ice cold and unopened.

If you're interested in Merch By Amazon, here's another post on it: Amazon Merch: What It Is, How To Get Accepted, And How To Make Money
https://steemit.com/business/@robcubbon/amazon-merch-what-it-is-how-to-get-accepted-and-how-to-make-money

Do you like my articles on online business? Do you want to make money online whilst enjoying a great lifestyle? If so, please follow me @robcubbon here on Steemit. More great stuff coming!