Look what I found today!

117.jpg

"So what's up Doc" he said as he peeped at me from my finger. "Oh my" he said, "but you are an ugly chameleon and you don't look like my father".

I held this tiny old-world animal that originated 65 million years ago and he is a dwarf chameleon, come and meet him.

As far as paleontologists can tell, the first chameleons evolved shortly after the extinction of dinosaurs 65 million years ago. However, there is some indirect evidence that chameleons were extant 100 million years ago, during the middle Cretaceous period, perhaps originating in Africa.
Source

"Would you mind if I investigate this funny branch to see if there is something to eat" he asked.
118.jpg

"Nope" he said, "maybe I must find a better spot to look for a fly"
123.jpg

"Nothing here" he said and you can see by his expression that he was disheartened, "so if you don't mind, please take me home"
139.jpg

So I put him back into the tree where he belongs.
145.jpg

I checked on him later and he was a happy chappy, as here you can see that he was sound asleep.
099.jpg

A Happy Friday to everyone and in fact the gardener called me to fetch the little guy as he saw him in a rose bush in one of the gardens. The fear is always that either a cat will get him, or a human will take and sell him, as dwarf chameleons sell at a very expensive price.

Of course the gardener wouldn't touch him, as he thinks that they are bad luck to touch and he might lose his girlfriend, or his money 😜
But yes, as some of you know, I have a special tree where I keep them safely in the wild.

And That's All Friends.

Note: All photos are my own and taken with a Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the talking chameleon and the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
69 Comments
Ecency