Emergency with a Black Mud Wasp!

173.JPG

A large black wasp sat on the top of a sun umbrella at the coffee house.

My help was called for by a client as this wasp built it's nest in an area where it could be dangerous for the clients and their children. I think that they always see me taking photos in the gardens of the center, so they thought that I was some sort of a wasp remover hahaha.

Of the order Mason Wasps in the family Eumenidae these wasps build their nests on buildings at times. Here she was collecting some nesting materials.
126.JPG

And here was her nest. I saw her sitting on it but before I could take a photo she flew away.
115.JPG

Her nest was low down next to the shop entrance, so I asked a staff member to hold a paper cup under the nest while I removed it.
176.JPG

Two little yellow eggs were suspended from the roof of the nest and a paralyzed caterpillar was laying at the bottom.
174.JPG

So I took the poor worm out, but he was already damaged.
The wasp must have injured it before it paralyzed the worm.
181.JPG

Here is a closer look at the two eggs before I removed them.
193.JPG

Some information about the nest.

Each egg is suspended from the roof of its cell by a thread. The cell is then provisioned with paralyzed caterpillars before being sealed. The Larvae will emerge from its eggs, feed on the caterpillar and then when grown will bite their way out of the nest.
Source: "First Field Guide To Insects of Southern Africa" Author; Alan Weaving. ISBN 978-1-77584-434-1

So yes, I don't like to destroy anything in nature, but the nest was in a dangerous place as a wasp sting will not be a good experience for a small child or even a baby.

And That's All Friends!

Note: All photos are my own and taken with a Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you enjoyed the story and the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
68 Comments
Ecency