At First I Didn't Believe This Giant Cat Was Real!

I thought it was just another photo-shopped image.. until I looked it up. Look at the size of his head compared to a human!

659898254ccf43df0f1b7fe58078e526--mrytle-beach-ligers.jpg

source

The photo I first saw mentioned a "Liger" and I'm like.."What in the world is THAT?" I learned that a Liger is a cross between a male lion and a female tiger.

This hybrid creates the biggest cat in the world. Take Hercules here for instance. He stands 4 ft tall at the shoulders, weighs 920 lbs and is 11 feet long!

Here's the first Liger photo I saw and didn't believe it could be real:

31ed97b77a93a8e406be6b9dd0052250.jpg
source

You can see why I didn't believe it. That man isn't a short guy either.

The Liger is pretty rare because they aren't the easiest to breed. They don't breed in the wild like this and it's difficult to accomplish because they often die in the womb or in a premature birth.

So even though I enjoy seeing these magnificent animals...it's not natural and they are sterile and can't produce offspring. They're bred just to be an attraction at animal sanctuaries and zoos.

They're awesome but I have mixed feelings about breeding them just for entertainment purposes.

liger-kalika.jpg
source

Although, they DO have a wonderful life and are treated like royalty and everyone loves them! Look at the big baby. lol.

Dsrum.jpg
source

By the way, they eat about 7kg or 15 lbs of raw meat each day to stay strong and healthy. They say you don't want to hand feed them but more like throw them the meat from a good distance because they can pounce and jump something like 25 feet!

17118574130_bb33f340e1_z.jpg
source

Oh and one more thing. When they DO have a successful birth...they're impossibly cute!


96kb5y.jpg
source

Here's one more shot of Hercules. I guess he's pretty gentle as long as he's not hungry!

image.png
source

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

I don't know about y'all but I'm very drawn to these big cats. I know it would be a full time job raising and taking care of them(they'd fit well in Texas where everything is bigger!) but I think I'd volunteer if given the opportunity, what do you guys think?

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

d25fwk.png

mv4t7d.png

xsfpf7.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
60 Comments
Ecency