Date Balls

I had the wonderful opportunity to visit with @angelfire808 yesterday.  We had a fantastic time chatting an sharing.  We spent many hours in our own little world out here just being women and working through all of the things that women work through while chatting.  It was energizing to talk at these levels and just share.  I did have a whole day planned of activity but this was even better than all the work that was planned.  This was connection at a deep level and more important than the work. 

While @angelfire808 was here we made homemade mozzarella cheese and of course we had to taste it.  What a treat.  While she was over I wanted to make something else, so we talked about making something with dates.  We both have an alternative truffle recipe with dates but I couldn't find mine.  So we began throwing a few things together and this is what we came up with. 

Date Balls

1/2 cup dates

3 tbsp water

1 tbsp chia seeds

2 tsp coco (optional)

1 tbsp coconut oil

1/3 cup shredded coconut

Warm dates and water just to get them to soften.  Use a fork to mash them up. This will make a thick paste. Take off burner and add chia seeds, coco and coconut oil and mix.  Allow this mixture to cool for about 10 min.  Just to allow the chia seeds to expand and the mixture to cool a bit so it is easier to handle. Roll mixture into balls and th en roll in shredded coconut. Put in freezer and allow to cool for about 1/2 hour. Enjoy

We ate most of the balls yesterday, so this morning while writing this post I actually made them again. I also adjusted the recipe a bit because we threw the ingredients together and didn't initially write down what we did.

These date balls are similar to the truffles recipe that we have but I incorporate another recipe into the date balls because I really like the energy that it gives.  I learned about this recipe a few years ago and use it when I need more energy in the day. However I can't remember the name of it.  It is just an ingredient list that is stored in my head. 

1 tbsp coconut oil

1tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp honey

This is a fantastic energy booster. However I have a hard time with the sweet of 1 tbsp of honey.  Also I find it has no flavor.  So I decided to take parts of this and add it to the date balls.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now