2 weeks on Hive - the story so far and first goals

Initial reactions to Hive

So it's been 2 whole weeks on Hive - how am I doing?

Well the first few days were completely overwhelming - I didn't understand voting,
hive power or the etiquette. Let alone staking, delegating or resource pools!

I happened to meet a friend (who is heavily into other areas of crypto) for lunch on the 3rd day and told him:

So I joined Hive 3 days ago... and then MY HEAD EXPLODED!

In my home studio, contemplating 2 weeks on Hive

I think I've just about grasped the basics now - with lots of help from @stickupboys and by reading: https://jryze.me/hive/

But I've also had help from lots of other people - I read the advice to just ask questions and though I know I've been asking a bunch of newbie questions everywhere I'm really glad I have. Some people I'm grateful to either for directly answering my questions or through publishing helpful content that I came across include: @flaxz @steevec @whoismyhero and @double-eagle - thanks so much guys!

My Hive story so far

Since those first few days I have:

  • Converted all the bits and bobs of various crypto currencies I left on Binance a couple of years back into HIVE. Back then the values were so low I saw it as small change and more or less forgot about it. But 2 years on that small change grew into enough to get a decent amount of HIVE to get me started (result!)

untitled.gif

  • Made several posts about my music, in particular my shows on Brixton Radio - those are every week and involve creating original music every time so there will always be some music content for me to post about.

  • Found the PIZZA community and bought and staked my 500 PIZZA so I can use the command - who doesn't like being able to send PIZZA tips?!

  • Also found the WE ARE ALIVE community, and staked enough to be able to use the ALIVE bot and decided to do the ALIVE AND THRIVING challenge - a challenge to share my journey and goals - this post is the start of me doing that.

  • Got to level 20 in Rising Star

untitled.gif

  • Joined a whole bunch of Discord servers! (Up from 2 I had previously to 10)

  • Entered a few contests/draws (PIZZA, ALIVE and Rising Star ones) - this is something completely new to me - so I entered a few and even won some PIZZA!

Goals

So - do I have a plan for the next couple of weeks?

Well - as I'm still very new I think it's too early to set out really concrete goals - so my main goal is to keep finding my feet and seeing what's what on the Hive blockchain. I've learned a lot but I know there is a bunch of stuff still to figure out.

I will however set myself these specific goals for now:

  1. In 2 weeks time make another update post like this one, with goals!
  2. Engage in some way on Hive every single day
  3. Search for and get to know some other musicians!

Signing Off

I hope this post might help out some other new people with some encouragement and ideas of things to try when starting out - and also maybe some older hats to see the perspective of someone new and keen. See you all around Hive real soon!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
57 Comments
Ecency