This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

A photo by day for 28 days. Photography contest | Final week

Last year in february I participated for the first time in the photography contest: #UnaFotoxDíax28días. The challenge consisted on creating a visual discourse through photography during 28 days. With this posts series I want to share part of the experience and a few stories about the images that I captured.

final-week-resume-2-1.png

"Ultimately, the reward is the process - the process of photographing and discovering and trying to understand why and what am I photographing."
Alex Webb

semana-4-1.png

Instagram feed. Final week

Being constant was key for doing the challenge, accomplishing the daily
assignments helped me to create certain discipline. The fact that the
daily topics were so diffrent from each other prevented it from becoming
monotonous and made the photo-search more interesting. Another
important thing was the personal commitment to complete the whole
challenge. For the last week I managed to complete the visual discourse
that I maintained through all the photographs.


Emanuel-Lizcano22.jpg
22. Un presidente de junta de condomínio. /A condo association board's president.

On February 22, I did not publish the photo of the day; even though I had the assignment ready, a 24 hour blackout left the entire western part of the country without electricity. It was frustrating to think that I'd be disqualified for something that was totally out of my control, sadly in Venezuela these experiences are common. I tried not get discouraged and I went out to make photos. To my surprise the next day the organizers made a statement encouraging the participants to post their photos to continue the competition.


Emanuel-Lizcano23.jpg
23. Un romper la cuarta pared. /A breaking the fourth wall.

The theme "A breaking the fourth wall" is about a scenic
resource used in the theater, happens when a character observes or
speaks directly with the public, making them "accomplice" of the plot.
It was a very interesting topic, with these idea I tried to capture the
moment when the illusion of the fourth wall breakes and the barrier
between the observer and the photo falls down.


Emanuel-Lizcano24.jpg
24. Una franquicia personal. /A personal franchise.

The assignment "A personal franchise" brought back the idea
of the informal businesses that are seen every day on the streets of my
city. I looked for a photo that showed the effort that people put into
their ventures, seeing them as street entrepreneurs.


Emanuel-Lizcano25.jpg
25. Un estatus perdido. /A lost status

"A lost status" allowed me to show the state of
deterioration in which the streets of my country are, the abandonment
and the loneliness with which one walks through the city. This was the
idea behind the photo.


Emanuel-Lizcano26.jpg
26. Un consejo no pedido. /An unasked advice.

This image was pure chance, it's all about being in the right place
and the right time. It seemed to me that I was fits perfectly the topic
of the day "An advice not requested". Just by interpreting the looks and gestures one can imagine some history behind.


Emanuel-Lizcano27.jpg
27. Un π. /A π.

Rooftops are pretty cool places to take photos, several of this
week's photographs were taken that way. The topic of the 27th day was "A π",
although it was a difficult subject to interpret, I wanted to portray
how this number is implicit in our daily life. And this was the result,
one of my favorite photos of the competition.


Emanuel-Lizcano28.jpg
28. Un horizonte caído. /A fallen horizon.

"A fallen horizon" was the ending theme of the 28 day's
challenge. For this last assignment I walked all over the city looking
for fallen horizons' ideas to potray. And as it often happens, on my way
back home I took this shot. It seemed to me that on that horizon many
of the ideas I was seeking to capture were condensed in that scene: the
deteriorated city, the disorder, the loneliness, the calm, the hope.
This was the last photo I needed to complete the series, I was very
happy to have found it.


final-1fotoxdia.jpg
This final image was the official closing of the contest and each
participant had to publish it on March 1st, 2018. The hashtag: #YoLogréLas28Fotos
translates to "I achieved the 28 photos" and represents the shared
effort and achievement of those who participated in the challenge in

  1. I hope you enjoyed the photo-tour.

final-week-resume.png
A photo by day for 28 days' feed

As Alex Webb says, the reward was the process and the experience.
During February I create new photographs every day, I improve my
photography skills and was able to portray my city. I managed to keep a
visual discurse throughtout the whole process creating a photo
collection that I really liked. I am very happy the experience.


Thanks for reading and good vibes!



Take a look to the photographs and stories from the previous week:

semana_1.1_final.png
"I took the challenge as an opportunity to improve my photography..."FIRST WEEK
semana_2.1_final.png
"In the second week the idea was clear: I wanted to portray the streets..."SECOND WEEK
semana-3-1-final.png
"Going out to take pictures was becoming my favorite activity..."THIRD WEEK


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://eaamez.vornix.blog/2019/04/15/a-photo-by-day-for-28-days-photography-contest-final-week/