The day I tasted melon pulque and met a beverage activist

When I got to the place, I saw Kevin cleaning the wood-burning oven, came up to him and asked if I could take a picture of him before we met.
Kevin accepted and told me that he knew where the idea for the photo was, we walked to the back of the house, on the way he showed me the orchard and the areas designated for compost.
We got to the bottom and he told me that this was the place, that was the mural he liked best in the whole house. While I was taking the photos he told me that seven people lived there, that he came from Mexico City and had been in Queretaro for six months.
When I told him that I had finished, he asked me to help him load firewood for the oven, while he told me that he was making a very good pulque and offered to try it.

"What flavor do you want your pulque? There is guava with strawberry, melon, pineapple and natural ". I asked for melon and went to sit with the others.
Later he told us that before the beer industry arrived in Mexico, pulque was a popular beverage in the country. There were large fishing estates distributing their produce throughout the country by rail.
However, around 1900, corruption created a smear campaign against this beverage in order to reduce its consumption and increase that of beer.

Kevin calls himself a pulque activist and one of his goals is to regain the reputation that this food once had.
PD. The pulque was very good.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now