Running for Healing {Power of Community}

Four clients in four years. Breast cancer is an -itch with a capital B. Just a few months ago was the latest diagnosis of a client a year younger than me. Luckily she felt an unusual lump and went right in to see the doctor to get the ball rolling on treatment.

I have a tremendous amount of respect for this gal. She was a blast to train, and she is a very successful business owner who leads one of the top real estate teams in her area. In the past year she has totally fallen in love with running, so I've had the extra pleasure of watching as she has set and conquered some great goals in that area of life.

One of her requests when she started sharing about her treatment and diagnosis was that her friends share pictures of them running or working out and tag her on social media. Since she cannot workout at the moment, she is living vicariously through us. Even better, she got a bunch of bracelets made so we can represent for her while we're logging miles!

My pal Julie and I knocked out a 7.5 mile run yesterday and posted this pic in her honor. Her influence has gotten all kinds of people to get out and get moving. Not just people like me who already run, but others who hadn't laced up their sneakers in a long time. How awesome is that to motivate people while you're dealing with your own issues?

I haven't run long in a while, but this run felt like a breeze. It was awesome to have great company to log the miles with, but also keep in mind my other pal and carry some of her energy with us.

This past week I was happy to be able to bring some nourishing food for the family. I wholeheartedly believe in the healing power of healthy, home cooked food! Of course I brought some items like a delicious creamy cauliflower soup since cruciferous veggies are excellent to boost the immune system and fight cancer cells. I also stuffed a baked butternut squash from our very own garden with a quinoa blend for a plant-powered main dish. I wasn't sure if they would eat it that night, or freeze for later so I wanted to make sure both items would hold up well if frozen!

When I went to drop off the food I was lucky enough to catch her at a time when we could sit back and chat for a while. Her current mindset is fantastic, and her prognosis is very good. The lumpectomy got the tumor with great margins, so she's just doing all of her research to choose the best next course of action. She has an adorable 2-year-old son, so her biggest priority is staying healthy for him!

Besides the other treatment and trying to consume good fuel to stay healthy, her last year of running has also been a big factor in her body being in a strong state to kick cancer to the curb. She lost excess weight and developed great endurance. Even after having the surgery to remove the tumor, she is bouncing back quickly in part because of those healthy habits!

I had to laugh because even in the midst of cancer, she was trying to get me to commit to doing a marathon with her next year! She was supposed to do her first one a week ago, but obviously wasn't able to do it. Instead of getting too bummed about it, she's focusing on the future. I believe that is a huge mental boost to set goals and focus on what will be instead of what could have been! The mind is a powerful part of the healing process. Community is, as well, so having awesome people rally around her has been a huge boost, she said.

I think we often get caught up in our own lives, being self-sufficient and successful. It's only when life throws us a curve ball that we realize how much we need others. I know I have a tough time asking for help, but being there for others lets me know I have a strong community when I need it, too. Both online and off. 😉

I'm coming up on my next race this weekend, and I will proudly wear my bracelet!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


15040
Daily Activity, Running

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
57 Comments
Ecency