Wat Suthat Area, Bangkok for #Monomad Challenge

I continue to take photography walks around Bangkok trying to follow the “just keep walking” formula. Calculations are usually disrupted by weather and other circumstances. But if you walk for several hours through interesting places, something stunning will definitely appear on your way. Sharing some shots from my walks in Wat Suthat area on January 17 and January 28.

Bangkok is so big that tourism can't just terraform it. Wat Suthat area has many popular attractions but that fact doesn't make it even crowded with tourists.

There are dozens of old streets there full of charming details...

...like this bodhi tree growing from the dead window. This baby will become this soon:

This sacred tree can tear a building apart.

Shops selling statues and utensils for Buddhist and Hindu temples also attract attention. I will publish a post on this topic in color.

Epic blackened houses of the twentieth century are another thing to focus.

Unfortunately, the Thai residential architecture of the 20th century is a complete mystery to me - I tried to find anything on this topic to classify and understand, but, alas, nothing was found.

I can only guess these panel multistory buildings in this prestigious district were supposed for the Thai middle class and could have appeared in the 1970s or 1980s.

The 1990s?

The area hosts several interesting Buddhist temples and other historic places like this piece of Bangkok city wall and Wat Saket behind:

And Wat Suthat and the Giant Swing, you can see in the second image. This one:

But my favorite place is Lokha Prasat. It is so luxurious and cozy at the same time. Never crowded, free entrance, free WC. I love visiting it and I love resting there.

On January 28, 2024, I sat down at the stairs there and I was reading a Medieval Taoist novel Seven Taoist Masters, stretching out my legs after a long photo walk until I started falling asleep and eventually dozed.

That's where I love dozing, at this amazing castle.

Having restored my energy, I set out to Khao San Road to check out fwhat's happening there.

But that's another story for another post.

More images and stories from Southeast Asia are ahead! Check out the previous ones on my personal Pinmapple map.

I took these images with a Nikkor 50mm and Nikkor 70-300mm on a Nikon D750 on January 17 and 28, 2024, in Bangkok, Thailand

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency