Holozing Creature Background Contest - Water Whales in the Deep Sea

source Edited with Canva

In this post I will take part in a contest held by Holozing, namely the "Holozing Creature Background Contest!" which has been going on for a few days, after looking for ideas for the past two days, I finally decided to make a background for the creature "Water Whale" for the reason that I like whales and from what I see in the Holozing community there are not many users who use Water Whales as characters will be used as background, so I wanted to take advantage of that moment to design the background for this creature.

From the concept I have in mind, I will use a background with an deep sea theme following the whale's habitat, maybe I will try to explore again while designing the background, and I will design it in my way without any limitations. I used Adobe Illustrator to design the background concept, and maybe I will add some effects or filters using Adobe Photoshop if needed, hopefully, the results will meet my expectations.

Initially, I wanted to design the background of the creature Water Whales with a 3D concept, but the process would take a long time, and I was afraid it would be late, so I designed it in 2D using Adobe Illustrator with a background theme in the sea. Below are some screenshots of my process of designing the background for the Water Whale creature that you can check out and maybe follow along if you want to do the same.


Screenshot from Adobe Illustrator

1. I started by opening Adobe Illustrator to prepare a Canvas in Portrait size. You can follow these steps if you want to design a background image like mine.


Screenshot from Adobe Illustrator

2. Next, I started designing the shape of the coral reef, which would later become the background for the Creature Water Whales, I used the Pen Tool in Adobe Illustrator. You can draw it directly on paper or in a drawing book and then trace it in Illustrator.


Screenshot from Adobe Illustrator

3. The next step is to start coloring the objects on the canvas, then I add color to the background with gradations of navy blue with the color codes #.50a4d7 and #.7ed2f6.


Screenshot from Adobe Illustrator

4. After coloring the coral reef object and background with gradations of sea blue, I added the effect of sunlight reflecting into the sea and added the effect of sea waves on the surface. You can also use the elements I added to this design from this source.


Screenshot from Adobe Photoshop
5. Adjust all the designs, I rearranged the colors so they were more in sync with each other, and then I inserted the Creature Water Whales into the canvas and adjusted them symmetrically as in the screenshot below.


6). When everything is finished in its place, I save the design in .png image format, and the following is the result, the image on the left is just the background, and on the right is the background filled with Creature Water Whales. To make it look even more attractive, I used a Mockup design from GraphicBurger.



You can find all the images or objects used in this design in the Holozing community, and for the objects used in this background design, I used references from this. That's the post of my contribution to the contest held by the Holozing team this time, winning is not the main goal, the important thing is to continue supporting this project until it is launch and mainnet in the hive ecosystem.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency