Splinterlands Art Contest Week 265 | Fina Voxom

finallllllllll.png

Hello everyone! Welcome to my Art blog!
I drew another portrait as my entry for the Splinterlands art contest. I was reading a manhwa called "A Returner's Magic Should Be Special" at the start of the holy week break. It has 200+ chapters and I was amazed at how its art improved a lot throughout all the seasons. This pose is inspired by a panel from there, a sort of battle stance of a warrior about to get into serious mode.

ART Process

1.png

2.png

My original plan for this is to make a lineart and cell shade the base color then render. But looking at the original art her hair is like a fire, very flowy and it's kinda difficult for me to capture those with lineart so I abandoned the idea and made the brush strokes work and flow like a fire does using various texture brushes. I experimented with almost all of the brushes I found in Krita just to find those that may look like hair strands.

Whenever I feel lost in painting I always add those linearts on some parts to add depth and also act as my guidelines. I also added some simple wriggly lines as strands on the hair for it to have general directions. Her weapon is called a Siow, I tried to search it on the internet for a reference but I couldn't seem to find anything so I just made it like a thin sword as what the description says: The siow is an incredibly long, thin blade

5.png

fina voxom.png

I added a new layer in the middle of my character and the blade's layer, filled it with black color, and set it on a multiply blending mode. I then lowered the layer opacity soft-erased the hair and the eyes and added a hardlight blending mode on top to have a glow effect. After rendering with the blade I again added multiply layer on top that is filled with dark red, lowered the opacity, and soft-erased those parts again along with the blade. Then added color dodge on top for the highlights. The glow is still somewhat lacking, so I made some color adjustments, especially with the saturation. And here is the RESULT...
finallllllllll.png

Thank you for reading! Have a great weekend everyone!šŸ’–


Tools:
šŸ’¾ Krita
šŸ–Š XP-Pen Deco Mini 7



Fina Voxom (Original)

Fina Voxom.png


Ozaki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency