MTG: Arena- Road to ranking up to eventually play tournaments - Part #1

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.22.41.68 44.png

This is part of the journey


A couple of weeks ago I decided to get back into playing Magic The Gathering: Arena, because I always loved to play it but I would also love to eventually.. play in tournaments! I am talking about getting to the big ones if ever possible, otherwise some small ones to just earn a bit while enjoying a great game and being able to compete with some of the best!

But what I first had to do was create fresh decks that I could use for standard play (which I believe is the format used) and get about 5 decks for now that could be used. This is a big thing which I had to test the decks in non-ranked mode until they seemed quite decent, then I will eventually flesh them out some more so they will be even better and hopefully get me many more wins!

For now I am happy with most of the current decks I built and ranked will start showing how I will go, at least when I get out of bronze so then I can modify the decks to test again.

How has this ranked match panned out for me


With a solid red/white samurai and warrior sort of deck, I started out with some nice early plays like Eiganjo Exemplar which allows a solo Samurai or Warrior to get +1/+1 if attacking alone, also Rem Karolus for haste and extra damage early on. Was holding my Vanquish the Horde, ready for when my opponent had a nice chunk of monsters out.

Both my opponent and I were getting some lower mana cost cards which is always essential, even if start with 2 mana cost on the follow-up turn, it will allow you to do a lot if you have the right cards and RNG isn't against you. It's when someone snowballs out of control while the other is setting up, that it's just game over from then!

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.23.08.67.png

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.23.58.33.png

The match was going at a close match sort of quick pace, with attacks coming back and forth from our slowly increasing in power creatures, occasional instant or sorcery cards used and I don't know why I decided to hold Vanquish the Horde so long, should've just used it after that Arlinn came out so I could potentially survive... but it seemed like I may not have won this either way unless my next couple of draws were decent enough.

Anyways, the final blow was from a powered up Storm-Charged Slash, sitting at 9 power and more than enough to see me lose this match, shame really but that shows what happens when you wait too long to cast something, when you may have brought it back.

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.26.12.85.png

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.26.59.19.png

Magic  The Gathering Arena Screenshot 2022.12.05 - 16.29.20.25.png

Next steps in my journey - a look into the deck colours being used and the plans to come


In the below picture you will take note of the first 6 decks which are the ones I have built, yet to build out the zombies and vampire decks yet as they are just thrown together without modifying them. You won't know too much about the decks, incase I ever have someone reading this post and facing me haha!

So I have a blue/black Ninjutsu sort of deck which is a really fun, simple to use deck but can do a lot of damage/increasing damage quickly. Next is the green/black deck which has a lot of filthy cards to annoy the opponent. Then there is my green/white colours for more knights and other sort of things.. Tri-colour deck is a big one but can bring out lots of creatures and get me through the deck quicker. Next is the white angel deck which is a powerhouse of destruction and finally... the one I used is the samurai and warrior deck which works well with multiple on the field to boost the effects of a solo attacker.

image.png

So I have been playing more ranked and managed to hit Bronze 1 now, it's starting to look like it is getting a slight bit tougher and I may need to flesh these decks out a bit by removing and putting in some cards to benefit the decks.. that and hitting Silver are what is to come on this journey and I still have a lot of work to do, but I am on the right path and I will try get you some more matches when I can.


Don't forget you can now join the Orion's Peak Gaming community and start earning the OPG token!

Join the Orion's Peak Gaming community Discord and see how you can join others in earning the OPG token which includes using the tag #opg

Join the Hive Gaming Community to find great gaming content and like-minded gamers at the Hive Gaming Community

Orion's Peak Gaming Community

opg logo2.png

Hive Gaming Community

HGC_Wallpaper.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency