ASEAN Hive Community Challenge #92 : Food Photography (My Family's Cravings)



It's my first time participating in ASEAN Hive Community Challenge this year and I hope to be more consistent this time around. For the 92nd challenge, the theme is Food Photography.

It's quite a bummer because I have already made a post about the foods we shared during Christmas and New Year. It would have been an interesting entry for this challenge. However, the theme itself is quite easy to comply since we have to eat every day. The challenge is to make it more interesting.

So, in this week's challenge, I'm going to share some photos of several foods that satisfied my family's cravings. Let's start!

image.png

image.png


For the longest time, I've had a craving for kwek-kwek which is a popular street food in the Philippines. It's fried quail egg coated with an orangey batter. It's kind of a guilty pleasure of mine especially now that we're trying to live a healthier lifestyle. But, I really love this.

I used to have this at least once a week when I was working in the English academy since there are some vendors in the terminal where I ride motorcycle home. Nowadays, I only have this a few times a year. If I'm not mistaken, the last time I had one was on my birthday last year when we bought from the street vendor near the church. I especially like it with the sweet and spicy sauce.

image.png

image.png


My mama has been craving this. It's fresh coconut juice and meat. When we lived in the countryside during my high school years, we used to have this almost every week. I remember, when my grandma (my paternal grandma's sister) and her husband notice that I have some friends over at home either for school projects, dance or presentation practice or just hanging out, they'd get some coconut from their front yard and send us some.

Now that I live in the city, we have to buy this and they're getting pricier. It's twice its price a couple years back. I want free coconuts from our relatives' place in the countryside! hahaha

image.png


The other day, papa and I went grocery shopping, and I decided to buy some tofu instead of pork. Papa doesn't really like tofu though he still eats it. Mama's condition has been a bit unstable the past week, so I'm quite strict with the food at home. Since he can't have meat for the time being, he wanted to eat some fish... and voila, request granted! He cooked this using the garlic oil from mama's garlic snack these days. Have to lower than blood pressure the natural way!

image.png


And since I couldn't have fish, papa bought me some siomai (steamed dumpling). I was supposed to cook some veggies with tofu for today's lunch, but I had classes until past 11 this morning, so I didn't have time to prepare and would instead cook them tomorrow.

I had three siomai for lunch and another three for dinner. It's kind of a luxury for me, to be honest. When I was in university, I'd settle with one siomai and one hanging rice sometimes. This was during the time when I only have enough money for my fare... it was tough, but I survived. Thanks to siomai and other cheap street foods! Well, I do indulge myself when I get extra money those times.. haha

image.png


Lastly, we had some boiled banana cardave and sweet potatoes!!! Papa bought us these. They're mama's favorites originally, but recently, papa and I have been enjoying these treats as well. They're quite healthy and pretty delicious. In the past, mama would just crave these... but nowadays, it has been a part of our diet. We have it at least once a week or every two weeks.

The photos I shared are those that satisfied my family's cravings this week. I want to tick more boxes on our cravings list someday. These are just simple food... or quite ordinary, but my family enjoyed them to our hearts' and stomachs' content. haha How about you? What are you craving? :)

Thanks for reading and I'll see you around! (^^,)/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency