one starling & nine sparrows

2022-mar-4523w-h.jpg

This post goes for 'Show me a photo (of a bird)' contest, round #23. Week's topic was 'Sparrows'. Actually I dont have any fresh photos and did not walk out with camera to get something for this week, so all you see below are the old captures taken from my archive, mostly from 2022-2021. At the moment we are still pretty much stuck with winter, there is snow here and there, no green colours at all (not speaking about flowers and blooming) -- pretty much like you see in the photo with a starling. The ground is still frozen and naked...

feathrr.png

2021-may-2673w-h2.jpg

(Below is uncropped version of the photo). What's amazing about this picture is how neatly you can see all the plumage on his chest... it's some kind of random luck, I guess! The capture was made with my average 300mm telephoto lens.

2021-may-2673w-h1.jpg


2022-may-5323w-h1.jpg

Another little fella sitting, singing and waiting for the spring. Uncropped version of the photo:

2022-may-5323w-h2.jpg


2021-may-2644w-h.jpg

Ambush at the pond's reeds. Isnt it touchy?.. I love everything about this photo, except of I could not manage to come closer and take more close-ups and alternate takes... The birdie simply did not let me go.
;)


2021-oct-9895w-h.jpg

Hunting for food at the streets; a small sparrow (probably just a yearling) is brave enough to attack a bread crust size of himself! I made this capture with 150mm lens, getting to the scene at pretty decent distance.


Breadcrumbs and crusts certainly can work out wonders when combined with a 150mm telephoto lens, but if a bird doesn't want to rely on treats but aims to hunt on its own, then... alas!

2021-may-2688w-h.jpg

Pretty woman!

2021-may-2689w-h.jpg

Have you ever noticed how different the gaze of male and female sparrows is? Females cast such tender glances that you want to press them to your chest and stroke. Males are a completely different matter. Brazen, impudent... bandits!


_MG_5073w-h1.jpg

And the last one. Some sparrows in the metropolis exterior. A real Assembly in a secluded safe corner on electric wires. Without any extra clicks I've got here some pure monochrome, almost naturally. (Thats a pretty old photo from the archives, date back to 2008. Got it as a bonus during my architectural sessions).

Hope you enjoyed this random selection. Thanks for walking with me!

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency