Crow and Cheese - SMAP #137

2023-oct-3495w-h2.jpg

show me a photo (of a bird) - Corvidae

This post goes for 'Show me a photo (of a bird)' contest, round #137. Week's topic was 'Corvidae'. Funny thing, a coincidence, you say? but I took this small series of photos in the morning 5 days ago, on the way to the office - just after I read the new topic of the week! This is how the word shapes the world.

feathrr.png

2023-oct-3477w-h.jpg

So... Walking along the park's alley and enjoying the morning sun and good lighting, as well as the autumn colors of the foliage, I stopped to take a few photos of ducks and reflections...

2023-oct-3495w-h.jpg

2023-oct-3485w-h.jpg


The entrance to the metro station was nearby, and I was about to put the camera in my backpack (that morning I was using a 150mm macro lens), when suddenly I turned around and noticed a crow right behind me. Of course, she was not at arm's length, but really quite close - about one and a half meters, this is the maximum distance that birds normally allow me to approach (not counting pigeons).

I immediately had my camera ready and, almost reflexively, took a few shots. At the very first moment I didn't understand what exactly was going on...


2023-oct-3486w-h1.jpg

But very soon it became obvious, that the crow have found a treasure: a slice of delicious cheese ham!

2023-oct-3487w-h.jpg

I can only guess where the ham could have come from here... I suspect that one of the people passing by, having breakfast on the go with a sandwich and a glass of coffee, treated the crow and pinched off a piece from his sandwich. One way or another, it was this ham that was the reason that the crow was not afraid of me and did not fly away immediately: she certainly could have done this, simply grabbed the ham and flown to a safer spot. But she was clearly mesmerized by the spectacle of this delicacy, as can be seen in the photographs.

2023-oct-3488w-h.jpg

Probably heaven sends her such a delicacy not on everyday basis...

What she was doing with it? Before eating, she decided to do some serving, which included washing her dish in the water (in the nearest pool). Well, the pool turned out pretty dirty, but it seems not to be a problem for the crow. the ritual is more important!

2023-oct-3489w-h.jpg

After doing the washing ritual, what she had to do... She said: 'Nyam!' - and the slice have disappeared, so quickly that I dont see it on my pics. here comes the end of this little story. A nice morning encounter, I wish nature would send me more of this kind. It is always a _ huge _ pleasure and entertainment to look at crows nd magpies activity. They are intelligent and elegant creatures!


PS. As for magpies - these are very beautiful looking and intelligent birds... I don’t see them in the city, not in my location... but in the summer, when I visit our countryside house, magpies always loom on the horizon of my vision, all the time enlivening the space with their lively chattering and flickering. But - they stay frosty and never, never let me get at closer distance. Therefore I can say I still do not have a single photograph of a magpie that I could present. (I mean, more or less quality photograph...)

2022-aug-1892w-h.jpg

This is the best one I have, photographed through my usual 150mm macro lens. If I had a 300mm with me (which usually stays in the city), the result would not have been fundamentally different.

So... my gestalt with magpies is still awaiting to be closed; same as jays, which I never see at all. Maybe one day! :)

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency