When jokes went too far.

png_20230308_144640_0000.png

Image by Andrea from Pexels, edited on Canva

Jokes can be fun; it is a way to connect with people, and most times, jokes are cracked to ease one from worry, anxiety, sadness, etc. Making a person who feels sad smile or becomes happy again with your jokes can mean a lot to both you and such a person. The person might feel it's the only way to forget whatever is bothering him or her and conclude with a saying, "after all, this fellow is happy, let me be, too."

But...

It's necessary to remember that, even though jokes are good, not all are appropriate in every situation. Some jokes end up being offensive — like making fun of someone's gender, disability, religion, culture etc. These are not okay and can be hurtful and offensive.



Some jokes are too personal that the other person may feel so bad and embarrassed. Jokes like, talking about a person's weight (obesity), appearance, attitude, etc. Some can be so sensitive about such jokes and before you know what is happening, things have gone worse.

We also have some jokes that make other people look so foolish or incompetent. Some individuals can jokingly joke about someone's spending and squandering money or buy on material things. One might think he or she is playing, or in his or own her way, trying to advise such a fellow but the way one took it has been misinterpreted to another meaning and it ends up causing chaos. Before you may want to make the person know that it was a joke, they wouldn't think of that anymore but end relationships in some situations.

The goal of every joke is to have fun, but when you are not too sure of a joke whether it is good or bad at that moment, it's best to avoid it and not make the other person change weirdly to you.



untitled.gif

I love joking around and with people, especially those I am too close with. Though I don't know how to stay long when I joke because I wouldn't want to put such a person in suspense, I don't know how to joke and still play seriously with it. There is no way you wouldn't notice immediately that it was a joke except for those who are yet to understand the kind of person I am.

Sometimes when I joke, they easily see through my nose that I am playing. Lol. No one seems to believe me when I do that which makes me think I am not better when cracking jokes. But in all, I still find my way into some jokes which make people believe it's true, not until I tell them it's a joke and we would laugh about it.



I loved to joke with my Aunt (my dad's sister) when I was living with her, but I know the kind of jokes I make so as not to be seen as being rude to an elder. This is why I limit my jokes around her because, at the end of the day, she may flare up and caution me never to try such with her.

One of my uncles also lived with us and he knows I joke a lot, and whenever I say something serious, he wouldn't believe me until I find valid proof to make him know I am serious. It got to an extent where even if something bad happens and I tell him, he wouldn't believe it is real because he does not differentiate my being serious and not.



There was a night, the three of us were inside watching movie from the TV and it was already late. We forgot to pack some of our things outside as we do not leave anything to stay till the next day. Aunt told me to go pack everything inside and make sure nothing was left behind. I got up and went to the door. As I opened the door, I jammed it immediately because of what I saw that almost crawled inside.

It was a medium-sized snake! I screamed and told them that a snake was about to get in. My uncle laughed and didn't believe me. He assured my aunt that I was only joking. He said, "Aunty, do you mind her? She is only joking". I wanted to laugh because this is one way to detect I was lying. But this was real. I told them I was serious and that they shouldn't mind my laugh 😅

untitled.gif



Still, my uncle didn't believe me. He needed strong proof I wasn't joking. How do I do that? I kept pushing the door to be sure the snake wasn't entering inside. My aunt looked at me and saw how serious I was and that even if I was joking, it doesn't last. They know I will surrender on time and let them know it's not true.

My aunt was smiling at me and I was smiling too but I made her know there was a snake. That was when she became serious. Even when my uncle was still doubting, aunt told him to go confirm if it was true. My uncle said, "Busayo if I stand up and it's not true, you will suffer this night". I told him it was a snake I saw even while still smiling.



In the end, my uncle got up and quietly opened the door a little and he saw the snake. He also screamed and confirmed it. That was when both of them knew I was serious. Do you know what I did?

Just because they didn't believe me even when I kept saying what I saw, I left the task to my uncle to go and face the snake by himself while I went to sit down comfortably on the chair while I was laughing at the drama between my uncle and the snake. He took the mopping stick that was inside since it was the only weapon to use. He smashed the snake several times and it was killed and burnt outside.

Since that day, I was careful with what I joke about at a particular moment so that when I am being serious, they will believe me on time.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

Gifs taken from Peakd frontend

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency