End of the year funfair.

While growing up, I had wanted to become an Engineer. All my University entrance examinations that I wrote several times were for applications to study Engineering in the University. I was later admitted to study Chemical/Petroleum Technology. At this stage I decided to push my preference for Engineering to graduate school.

One thing I noticed since I was a child is that I love teaching at any available opportunity. Right from my senior secondary school days till when I was in the University, I taught my colleagues more than I read on my own. When I finished my secondary education, I got a teaching job with a Nursery and Primary School. Soon after, I left for my University education.


On my return, I found myself teaching once again. I taught Mathematics for a few years in a senior secondary school. It was from the school that I moved my service to one of the foremost primary schools in Nigeria, Nigerian Defence Academy Primary School, Afaka.


Just like I never envisaged a time that I would become a professional teacher, so also the fact that despite finding myself in teaching later in life, I never thought of teaching in primary school due to the level of patience needed to teach such kids.


However, my journey of teaching in primary school has been superb. Over the years, I realized that education at this stage is the most vital to the academic success of any child. Most of the children at this stage believe their teachers more than their parents or any other person. The influence of a teacher can't be quantified as a result. For this reason, I am always careful of my roles in building these kids.


I teach Mathematics across two classes, Primary 4 and 5 equivalent of grade 4 and 5. I try to bring myself closer to them as much as possible so that they can always have confidence in me and what I teach them.
In my class, learning is made practical as much as possible. We do have fun and play a lot to stimulate learning.


In the spirit of Christmas, the school organized an end of the year funfair to round up the year's academic activities. It was really a great funfair.


Let me take you through the funfair in pictures.


I was part of the organising committee and I was busy moving up and down to see to the success of the event. Here are my colleagues and I in the committee.

IMG-20221215-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20221215-WA0007.jpg


The children were divided into groups and a group had fun together with any of the provided facilities at a time. As shown here, I was with the children that were excitedly climbing and sliding down the bouncing castle.

IMG_20221217_075821.jpg

IMG-20221215-WA0022.jpg


Horse riders were not left out.

IMG_20221217_080233.jpg

IMG_20221217_080350.jpg


So many other activities were held successfully to make the children happy.


The way the children flock around me with happiness makes me fall in love with teaching more and more daily. Right now, I am proud to be a teacher.
Some of my pupils that I teach today will become Engineers and other professions I had wanted to become as a child.


The funfair took place on Wednesday 14th December and yesterday 16th December, we embarked on a three weeks Christmas and New year holiday. We will be resuming on 9th January, 2023.


Shout-out to all my colleagues worldwide and I wish you merry Christmas and happy new year in advance.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency