This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Pretty Corn かわいいとうもろこし [English and Japanese]

IMG_8287.jpeg

Pretty Corn

Corn is growing nicely in my garden day by day. I love to talk to my corn every time I notice them swaying in the wind. I feel like they are greeting me. I usually touch them and tell them, "Go for it!"

I'm very attracted to corn's appearance. They are very beautiful vegetables. I think all vegetables are beautiful, but corn is my favorite. I love corn because it is tasty, has pretty yellow colors, is tall and long, and smells nice.

I love the Corn Lady's folk story. I used to have a book about it, but my memory of the story isn't perfect. The story goes something like this:

"There was a weak, hungry, old lady who was asked for help by a young man near his village. She had already been rejected by many other villages. His village was also suffering from food shortages. However, the young man helped and saved the old lady. His village people took care of her very well.

After recovering, the old lady gave them dried corn and taught them to make meals from it. After that, the old lady started giving them corn seeds and told them to plant them in the field. The people started growing corn. The old lady kept on giving them corn seeds, and they continued planting them. Soon, the people had enough food."

At some point, the people discovered that the old lady was sacrificing her own body to give them her corn because she was a corn herself. She also asked them to use her body to maintain the field. The people hesitated, but she insisted they use her body.

Finally, the village fully recovered from the food shortages, but the old lady exhausted all her energy. The village people were thankful to her, respected her, and never forgot about her.

IMG_8288.jpeg

Whenever I plant corn seeds, grow them, harvest them, cook them, and eat them, I remember that story. I love folk tales because their storytelling style always stays in my mind. The stories connect to our actions in life. They are very simple but meaningful.

I will remember the Corn Lady's story when I eat my corn from the garden this year as well.

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_8287.jpeg

かわいいとうもろこし

庭の畑のとうもろこしが日毎にすくすくと育っています。風でゆらゆらと揺れるとうもろこしを見るたびに、とうもろこしに話しかけたくなります。こちらに挨拶してくれているように感じるのです。たいてい葉っぱに触れながら「がんばって〜」と声をかけます。

とうもろこしの見た目にとても惹かれます。とても美しい野菜だと思います。もちろんどの野菜も美しいですが、とうもろこしが一番好きな見た目をしています。おいしくて、かわいらしい黄色で、背が高くて長く、いい香りがします。

昔持っていた絵本の中にとうもろこしの女性の話がありました。記憶の中にある物語を完璧に一字一句覚えているわけではないのですが、こんな感じのお話でした。

「体が弱りお腹が空いて年老いた女性が、ある村の若い男性に助けを求めました。他の村々にはさんざん断られてしまいました。若い男性の村は食糧不足で苦しんでいましたが、その年老いた女性を快く助けることにしました。村の人々は彼女のことをたいへんよくお世話しました。

少しずつ回復した年老いた女性は、乾燥したとうもろこしを渡し、それでみんなの食事を作るように言いました。その後、その女性はまた乾燥したとうもろこしを渡し、野原に植えるように言いました。こうして人々はとうもろこしを育て始めました。その年老いた女性はその後も定期的にとうもろこしの種を渡し、人々はそれを植え続けました。そのうち、村の食べ物が豊富になってきました。」

どういうわけで村の人々が彼女の正体を知り、彼女が自分の体を犠牲にして彼らにとうもろこしを渡していたことを悟ってしまったのかははっきりと思い出せません。さらに年老いた女性は自分の体を使って庭を耕すように彼らに伝えました。彼らは戸惑いましたが、それでも彼女の体を使うように強く訴えました。

そうして最終的にはその村の食糧不足問題が解決されましたが、残念ながら年老いた女性の命は尽きてしまいました。村の人々は彼女に感謝し、尊敬し、彼女のことを決して忘れませんでした。

IMG_8288.jpeg

とうもろこしの種を植え、育て、収穫し、調理して食べるときはいつもこの話を思い出します。心の中に永遠に残る語り継ぐ伝承タイプの昔話が好きです。物語は暮らしの中の行動と一致します。昔話はとてもシンプルで学びがあります。

今年も庭で採れたとうもろこしを食べる時に、このとうもろこしの女性の話を思い出すでしょう。

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

A9BDE44D-F107-49FD-BFC7-0DE15769A0D7koto-art small B.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1