This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Splinterlands Social Media Challenge: Isgald Vorst is a great card even when it's attack is halved


Splinterlands is a pretty complicated game and there are some interesting battles with all the options available. This is a part of the weekly social media challenge for Splinterlands. For this week, I chose a great battle where I took advantage of Isgald Vorst and the damage that it can do.

Featured cards

image.png
Isgald Vorst is a water splinter that costs 5 mana. This card starts off with the bloodlust and opportunity ability. This card learns piercing at level 6. This is a great card that can devastate the opponent if used correctly. It's high attack and speed makes it a powerful card against any low health monsters.

Rule set, Battle and Plan

rule set.png

The ruleset this time is Taking Sides and Odd Ones Out. This means that no neutral monsters can be used and only odd mana monsters can be used. There are 25 mana available and I am left with the choice of every splinter except for death.

SplinterMana CostPositionReason
Helios Matriarch6Summoner+1 speed and Gladiator
Hardy Stonefish11st
Noa the Just52ndRust
Daarg Deadblast73rdSwiftness and Weapons Training
Kra'ar Xoc14thScavenger
Isgald Vorst55thBloodlust and Opportunity
Total Mana:25

image.png
My summoner is Helios Matriarch because it increases my speed by 1 and gives me access to a gladiator card. My tank is Hardy Stonefish as a filler monsters. My 2nd monster Noa the Just with rust monster. My third monster is Daarg Deadblast for swiftness and weapons training. My 4th monster is Kra'ar Xoc, which will use up all my mana and be a decent backup tank if it survives long enough due to scavenger. My last monster is Isgald Vorst as a damage dealer and the armor can help my lineup survive against the sneak monsters.

Round 1

round 1.png
At first glance, I think that this match can go either way. That Baron in the back with halving is going to be an issue and it can reduce my damage quite a bit. I am also worried about the Grum from my opponent due to how tanky it is.

Round 3

round 3.png
I managed to stack a bloodlust on Isgald, but it also got hit by the halving ability. So my damage is decreased and it will be dangerous.

Round 5

round 5.png
Both me and my opponent lost a monster but I was lucky that Baron took out my tank. It saves me from a stack of bloodlust. Isgald did get another bloodlust.

Round 8

round 8.png
I got my opponent down to just Grum left. Now it's a battle of endurance to see who will kill each other first.

Round 11

round 11.png
I lost all of my other monsters and I am down to just Isgald left. It's not looking great for me at all unless I win enough attacks

conclusion.png
I ended up winning the match later that round because my opponent missed quite a few attacks.

Conclusion

The battle this time around did not go as I expected. I was glad that Isgald could stack up bloodlust but that halving nerfed my damage. I couldn't do much with it afterwards but I am glad that halving does not reduce its speed. This allowed me to dodge a few attacks and win the match in the end.

You can see my entire match here.

Feel free to leave a comment if you read my post. If you have any questions, feel free to ask and I will do my best to answer.