A dropout from the "school of life" and streetwise course.


IMG-20221216-WA0102.jpg


I hate to admit it, but my common sense in been streetwise levels to a dropout from the school of life. I am probably that learner who took a sneak peek during streetwise class and decide to run away from school. Since then the streets had dribbled me big time like a ball in Leo Messi's hands.

Growing up, we can say I was the combination of Achraf Hakimi and Cristiano Ronaldo when it comes to street life. I was good at being a "defender" when others were in trouble and too "forward" in some situations.

Admittedly, when it comes to street life, I was that kind of "forward" who would score 2 goals and there would still be a draw at the end of a match because one goal would be an own goal. Luckily God still showed me Messi mercy as I am still here today.


IMG_20221216_182528.jpg


image.png

A defender at the wrong time

I once took a shortcut downtown on Sunday afternoon and the streets were less busy. A lady walking in front of me was busy on a video call and I was admiring her glamour look wishing I could look that way not knowing that my current look was my defence weapon. It did not attract any attention, all it did was just scream "I am broke, don't waste your time".

Two nyaope (street drug) guys passed me and the smell of BB pipe Tobacco woke me up from daydreaming to now be aware of my surrounding. They were both rushing towards her walking about two meters away from each other. One of them greeted me and I quickly changed my handbag to face the opposite side.

Everything happened too fast within a blink of an eye, one grabbed the phone from the lady in front of me and they both ran away. My foolish adrenalin got me pumped up to chase them for what I don't know. I was a regular runner back then so I was high on Dopamine and I was able to catch up running next to them, but reducing my speed every time I got closer.

I knew it was game over if I try to fight them, oh no the reality is I have only one life worth more than the phone and I was not about to engage in some street fighter game knowing the score already. But I couldn't deny myself the adrenalin rush that came with running after them and that BB pipe Tobacco smelled fresh and tempting to ask if they could share even though I am not a smoker.


IMG-20221217-WA0014.jpg


Well, my true intention was to not lose sight of them while she was shouting for help. Mind you the owner was left behind screaming and there I was chasing them with no plan on what I'm going to do if I catch them. They both ran under the bridge and some cars stopped to help but it was too late.

I ran back to her and comforted her while she was crying that it is even a new phone. That was terrible because those guys can sell it for just 5-10% of the real costs. I gave her my number on a piece of paper and told her to call when she needs anything. I was broke, so my "anything" meant if she needs to talk to someone.

image.png

Being forward at the wrong time

The naïve younger me was on another level. While doing my first year in varsity a friend invited me to go get ice cream around 20:00. We went out of our campus residence and walked through one section that had broken streetlights. We got our ice creams and were busy sharing the latest gossip on campus feeling like some spice girls walking into a dark street.

A few minutes after our turn, two guys who were walking behind us rushed to us and demanded we stop. My friend pulled my hand to recruit me to run but I was too forward. I pulled back and she ran for her life alone. I was annoyed and kept walking thinking this was a silly prank and foolish pickup line, I mean who robs ice cream? Later I realised it was serious when they started asking for a phone.


IMG-20221216-WA0103.jpg


I started running calling my mom for help who was like 900km away. I gave a hell of a scream Something like ",mmaweeee yoweee"- meaning mom help. I screamed in my home language which sounded foreign in this part of the country.

Dumb and Dumber freaked out so they decided to run in the opposite direction thinking it was some kind of spell I guess. I was intoxicated with adrenalin rush sprinting like Usain Bolt or Jerry running away from Tom. My reaction was just unexpected and I heard them say "eehhh zhii!" at the same time which is a sign of shock.

Later, I was scared to walk back since they went in the direction I had to use to get back to RES. I met another guy while I was running back to the mall and I explained the incident to him as he stopped to ask if I'm okay. He offered to walk me to RES but suggested fetching his housemates to help him to look out for those guys. In my mind, I thought what if he is one of those guys?

But realizing that he was coming from the supermarket carrying his grocery, I just took a chance that he might be genuine. He went to call his friends just two flats away from where we met. I was walking beside him but stood outside when we got to his place. They were staying off campus in a commune house and they all came out with whatever they could grab from the house.


IMG_20221216_200326.jpg


I found myself walking back to campus with an army of four guys. Now everyone was looking at me walking with four guys carrying weapons. To make it worse they were singing war songs, cracking jokes and dancing.

On our way, I saw my friend coming with three campus Risk Assistants and she ran to give me warm hugs. Looks like she ran back to campus to log in for help. I guess she couldn't trust anyone along the way. I hope next time she won't run to the hospital to get an ambulance if she was to witness an emergency.

At least she was streetwise, If I was like her I would have held her hand tight and run for our life together. But I was too forward to think the streets are my parents' backyard.

image.png

Thank you for stopping by!

Images created using Bitmojis and edited in Canva


image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency