Purchased a bitcoin cold wallet / ビットコインのコールドウォレット購入(Englisn&Japanese)

(日本語は後半にあります)

【English】

Yesterday I purchased my first cold wallet over the internet (haven't received it yet). It's to store my bitcoins. There are several reasons for the decision to finally self-custody bitcoin, which has been in exchange storage for so long.



My account on one exchange was suspended

Last year, I deposited XRP through one domestic exchange into my HIVE account via my personal wallet. The amount was about $70. The money was successfully transferred, but the next day I received a message from the exchange asking me to give them the details of the transaction. They wanted me to send my identification document and selfie with it in my hand, and they wanted me to send details of the purpose of the remittance...I questioned it.



I felt uncomfortable as to why I had to report the details when I only sent my own funds, about $70. In the first place, I had to declare the destination and purpose of the funds when I sent them, and I had already declared that the funds were sent to my own wallet.

More details than that? ...OK, it was to transfer XRP from my personal wallet to SimpleSwap, exchange it into HIVE, and buy LEO tokens to power up. But what is the point of declaring such a thing to the exchange? So I ignored the warning and my account was suspended. There was not a penny left in my account and I have since received my transaction report, so no problem.

But at this time, for the first time, I realized that it might not be a good idea to leave funds on the exchange. At that time, I was able to transfer the money and the amount was small, about $70. There was no damage except that I could no longer use that exchange. But there may be times in the future when the exchanges won't allow me to withdraw money due to "screening". It makes me nervous to think if the exchange locks my bitcoins...my bitcoins, not a very large amount in the eyes of others, but for me, it's a lot of money in its own right.


My experience with HIVE

I had not, however, been using exchange storage without thinking about it. After comparing self-custody and exchange custody, which was safer, I had decided that exchange custody seemed to be the better choice.

If I lost my bitcoin private key in self-custody, I would never be able to retrieve it again. To be honest, I had never been confident that I would never do that.

If I keep my funds at an exchange, I do not have to manage my private key by myself; even if I lose my ID/password, I can ask for a reissue. Of course, there may be risks of hacking, etc., but even if it happens that my funds are leaked from the exchange, there is a high possibility that I will be compensated if it is a Japanese exchange. In such a situation, I could not see the advantage of daring to do self-custody.



However, in addition to the above-mentioned account suspension, I began to feel very uncomfortable with the fact that I had to declare the recipient's (usually myself) personal information and the purpose of the transfer every time I sent funds (perhaps I was too used to HIVE). I didn't like the fact that it took hours of "screening" at the exchange before the money was actually transferred, and I didn't like the fact that I couldn't send money on weekends and holidays.

So, am I really incapable of managing my private key? I thought again, and now I feel like I can.... Because HIVE is also self custody of keys, right, and if I lose my HIVE keys, there is no way to recover them (unless the keys have been changed within 30 days). Still, since joining this platform in 2016, I have survived successfully to this day. I have several accounts for different purposes, but I keep all my keys correctly. (I've had someone change my key, but I've been able to restore it)

It's time to give myself a little credit.


Conclusion.

So, I am finally ready to start bitcoin self custody.

As a side note, choosing and buying a wallet was also a challenge. I didn't know which one was best for me, and searching for information on X (formerly Twitter) only led me astray. Finally, after reading some articles on the website Lost in Bitcoin, I was able to decide on a wallet and where to buy.

In fact, before I arrived at "Lost in Bitcoin", there was a wallet and a store (distributor) that I had almost decided to purchase. But as I was researching, I was not even sure if the "authorized distributor" in Japan was really an authorized distributor... Oh my god, what should I do? After repeated searches, I came across this website, and as a result, I had to change all my previous plans.

Finally, the wallet was purchased from an official international site, not from a distributor. I had never used credit card payment on an international site before, and to my surprise, the bitcoin cold wallet was my first purchase on a foreign site. I can't wait for it to arrive!

Images were generated by Leonardo.ai








【Japanese】

昨日、初めてインターネットでコールドウォレットを購入しました(まだ届いていません)。ビットコインの保管用です。これまでずっと取引所保管になっていたビットコインを、ようやく自己管理する気になったのには、いくつかの理由があります。



ある取引所でのアカウント停止

昨年、ある国内取引所を通じてXRPを個人ウォレット経由でHIVEアカウントへ入金しました。

金額は1万円ちょっとで、送金は無事に済んだものの、翌日になって取引所から取引内容の詳細を教えろとの連絡が入りました。本人確認書類に加えて本人確認書類を手に持ったセルフィ―を送れだの、送金の目的を詳しく送れだの…いったい何故?という感じでした。


1万円ちょっとの、正真正銘自分の資金を送っただけなのに、なぜ詳しく報告しなければならないのだろうと不快に感じました。そもそも出金時に送り先や用途については申告が必要で、自分のウォレットへの送金である旨は申告したはずです。

「それ以上に詳しく」と言われると…個人ウォレットからSimpleSwapに送金し、HIVEに両替して、LEOトークンを購入してパワーアップするため!という説明になります。でもそんなこと、取引所に教えて何になるのでしょう。その理由が否認されても困るし、OKだとしても何となく腹が立ちます(ホントに分かってんの?!となるw)

そんなわけで諸々放置していたところ、私のアカウントは停止されてしまいました。資金は経由させただけだったので1円も残っていないし、取引報告書も受け取ったのでもういいやという感じです。

でもこの時初めて、取引所怖いかも、と思いました。この時は送金はできたし、金額も1万円ちょっと。その取引所を使えなくなったこと以外、ダメージはありませんでした。でも、この先「審査」と称して取引所が出金してくれないこともあるかもしれません。もしビットコインが取引所にロックされてしまったら笑えません・・・私のビットコイン、人から見たらそれほど大きな金額ではありませんが、私にとってはそれなりに大金なので。


HIVEでの経験

とはいえ私も、それまで何も考えずに取引所保管にしていたわけではありませんでした。自己保管と取引所保管を比べた際、どちらがより安全なのだろうと天秤にかけた結果、取引所保管の方が良さそうだと判断していたのです。

ビットコインを自分のウォレットで保管した場合、秘密鍵を紛失してしまったら二度と取り出せません。正直なところ、これまでは自分が絶対にそれをやらかさないという自信がなかったのです。

取引所保管の場合、自分で秘密鍵を管理する必要はありません。ID/パスワードは仮に紛失しても、再発行を依頼することができます。もちろんハッキングなどの危険はあるのかもしれませんが、もし被害に遭っても日本の取引所であれば補償される可能性は高いと思います。そんな中、敢えて自己保管をするメリットが見出せませんでした。



ですが、上に書いたアカウント停止の一件に加え、送金時にイチイチ相手先(大抵は自分ですが)の個人情報や送金目的を申告しなければならないことに強い違和感を覚えるようになりました。HIVEに慣れ過ぎたせいかもしれません。実際に送金が行われるまで、取引所での「審査」に何時間もかかるのもイヤでした。土日祝日だと送金できないし・・・暗号資産に土日も何もないだろ!と。

そこで本当に自分は秘密鍵の管理ができないのだろうか?と改めて考えてみたのですが、今ならできるような気がする・・・。

というのも、HIVEも鍵は自己管理ですよね。HIVEの鍵を紛失した場合、(30日以内にキーが変更されている場合を除き)復元する方法はありません。それでも2016年にこのプラットフォームに参加して以来、私は今日まで無事に生き延びています。アカウントは用途別にいくつか持っていますが、鍵を失くしたアカウントはありません。(誰かにキーを変更されたことはあるけど、元に戻せましたし)

もうそろそろ、少しくらい自分を信用してもいいだろう、と思ったのでした。


おわりに

そんなわけで、いよいよビットコインのセルフカストディを始めようと思います。

余談ですが、ウォレットを選び、購入するのも一苦労でした。どれが良いのか分からないし、X(旧Twitter)で情報を探しても迷走するばかりで・・・。最終的に「ロストイン・ビットコイン」の記事をいくつか読んで、ウォレットと購入先を決めました。

実は「ロストイン・ビットコイン」に辿り着く前、ほぼ購入を決めていたウォレットとショップ(代理店)があったのです。が、調べているうちに国内のその「正規代理店」と言われるショップが本当に正規代理店なのかも分からなくなってきて・・・ああもうどうしよう!と検索を繰り返すうちにこのサイトに辿り着き、結果それまでの計画は全て変更することになりました。

ウォレットは代理店ではなく、海外の公式サイトで購入。ビビリなのでこれまで海外サイトでクレジットカードを切ったことがなかったのですが、なんとビットコインのコールドウォレットが、私にとって初の海外サイトでの買い物となりました。到着が待ち遠しいです。

画像は Leonardo.aiで生成しました

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency