Guardians and scary faces

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 7.jpg


I have shown you this town hall building before. But it is almost mandatory to shoot it more when visiting Wroclaw. And since I had some time before a meeting, I took a slow walk around it... again.. and looked for some details that I had not paid much attention to before.

There was no camera with me that day, so my phone had to do the job.


Wroclaw Town Hall bw 8.jpg


I so wish I had a zoom lens with me. All the figures and detailed work around windows are asking to take a closer look.
Next time I guess :)


Wroclaw Town Hall bw 6.jpg


The bear statue that stands near the wall is a fountain, though I can't remember seeing it working.
It was created in 1902 and is fully made of bronze. It disappeared during the war and came back to the city center in 1998. It is 1.5 m tall and weighs 270 kg.
info source

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 2.jpgWroclaw Town Hall bw 3.jpg

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 1.jpg


Lovely shaped gothic windows.

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 9.jpgWroclaw Town Hall bw 10.jpg

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 11.jpg


And a bunch of scary faces around. This is something I never noticed before. Look at the photos above and notice the screaming man on the left being tortured by the dog creature.
Great thing to put right outside the window :)


Wroclaw Town Hall bw 12.jpg


The eastern entrance is guarded by these two fellas. The one on the left is supposed to be a mayor's messager, and the one on the right is a guard with a spear.
info source

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 14.jpgWroclaw Town Hall bw 13.jpg



The local crowd :)
Always there...
Always watching..


Wroclaw Town Hall bw 4.jpg

The Town Hall (on the left) and surrounding buildings:

Wroclaw Town Hall bw 5.jpg

As a bonus: a monochrome photograph from 1945. You can see the damage that the World War II left behind.

image.png
image source

»«
Shot with OnePlus 7 Pro
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

Mono banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency