Splinterlands Art Contest Week 259!// They Don't Miss Their Mark, Deadly Sabre Sharks!

" "Sabre-Shark-Output-1-405p.gif"" "They can smell you from a mile away, be careful not to over stay. Because they don't miss their mark, deadly Sabre Sharks!"

Hello guys! This is my entry for Splinterlands Art Contest Week 259.

For this week's contest, I have created an animated 3D artwork of Sabre Shark. Sabre Sharks are deadly creatures, much smaller than the great and mighty Megalodons. My target this time is to create a 3D figure and improve my knowledge in animations and in creating an underwater environment.

The final results have a large file size so I will be posting here the outputs at lower file size. But the following links will direct you to the final outputs at intended resolution (1280 x 720):

➯ Sabre Shark Output 1
➯ Sabre Shark Output 2
➯ Sabre Shark Output 3
➯ Sabre Shark Output 4
➯ Sabre Shark Output 5
➯ Sabre Shark Output 6

Medium and Software:

Hardware: Personal Laptop

Software: Autodesk Maya and Adobe Photoshop 2021

Step by step:

Here are the steps on how I made my 3D animated Artwork:

1.) I started creating the head wile avoiding the mouth. I'm trying to create the less detailed parts first and focus on the details later on.

1.png

2.png

2.) I finished the rest of the body and added the fins, tails, and mouth.

3.png

4.png

3.) Now, this is where it started to get a bit challenging. I started out adding textures and materials for the model but it look too plain. So I decided to use UV Editor. This isn't my first time using it but this is the first time that i was able to use it a bit effectively. So I started UV Mapping and applied texture afterwards.

UV Guide.png

UV Skin 2.png

4.) Here is the resulting model with texture.

7.png

5.) Then, I added animation and environment. I have rendered the model on different views and on created different animation sequence.

8.png

6.) Below are some of the outputs I have made for Sabre Shark.

Sabre-Shark-Output-2-405p.gif

Sabre-Shark-Output-3-405p.gif

Sabre-Shark-Output-4-405p.gif

Sabre-Shark-Output-5-405p.gif

Sabre-Shark-Output-6-405p.gif

Hi guys! I managed to finish this one on time! But, there are some features of the Sabre Shark that were not included in the model. But Over all, I am still satisfied with how the things turn out. I got to try different things and improve my skills in 3D Modeling and Animation. It sucks though, that I cannot render them on lower file size. But I still added links for the outputs at 720p.

Thank you very much for visiting my work! Also, as always, it would mean so much for me if you can upvote and share my post. You may also comment your ideas regarding my artworks. I will be willing to read your thoughts about them. You may also visit my account to view my other artworks if you are interested.

That's it guys, see you again next time!

Reference:

All materials are made using the built-in materials from Autodesk Maya. The 3D model was made in reference to the photo of Sabre Shark Card from the official website.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency