FROST, FLOWERS & LIGHT ON THE OUTSKIRTS OF MEDULIN

The 4th of February was a sunny Sunday that provided a beautiful light for my photographs early in the morning and presented me with a nice contrast between frost and the flowers on the outskirts of Medulin, the town in which I live.

(Enlargeable)

In this post, I'll show you a bit of that chilly morning atmosphere from a little more than a month ago.

I haven't planned to photograph anything that morning. I felt sleepy and unenthusiastic about the world around me when I left the house. All I had in mind is to buy quickly some stuff in one of the local supermarkets and go back to bed or in the armchair in front of the PC screen, but on the way to the store ...

(Enlargeable)

... while driving through a pine alley near some big hotels and their bungalows, I came across a fleeting moment of magic created by the rays of the morning sun. So I stopped by the side of the road to catch a bit of that light before it disappears.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can take a look in the opposite direction where the light wasn't that great. I mean, it was nice but ordinary. I wouldn't have been inspired to stop and get out of the car for a scene like this.

The direct sunlight still hasn't reached the shady place under the pines in which I left my car so there was plenty of frost on the lawn.

(Enlargeable)

The lovely leaf in the center of this shot belongs to the Malva sylvestris plant. The water behaves differently on different surfaces so the frost doesn't look the same on every type of foliage. In this case, the icy crystals have definitively made the Malva sylvestris leaf stand out from the rest. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can see a bunch of leaves of the same kind that have created a pattern down on the ground.

Here you can see the leaves of some plants that I wasn't able to identify. Across the small parking lot from this frosty stuff ...

(Enlargeable)

... I photographed the fluffy yellow flowers ...

... on the branches of the Acacia dealbata tree.

(Enlargeable)

Along with the almonds, these trees create a sensation of spring while winter is still going on.

Acacia dealbata is native to Australia and Tasmania but it was widely introduced in the Mediterranean as an ornamental plant.

And that's it. This short weekend report is almost over. It started with the light ...

... that lead me to the frost ...

(Enlargeable)

... and the flowers at the end of the quick and unexpected morning exploration.

AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

THE END

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency