Splinterlands Art Contest - Week 249 - Spirit of the Forest

Hey there, folks!
Today, I got another piece to share with y'all after a long ass while (7 weeks or so, I think), but let's pretend that it was just last week that I participated in the contest. So, without further ado, let's just jump right in...

The Line Art

We often see those lineart memes saying how scary line arts are and that's true. But I've been watching different youtube video tutorials and experimenting with different styles to see which fits best for any given art style. But I do like this general smoothness-assisted type of lineart before anything else, cuz I always end up overdoing it with sketch, so I thought I'd start with the lineart (though I'd already done some sort of sketch on paper previously)

Tge Shades

I'm not the biggest fan of (gradient) shading, to be honest - I like that simple, bordered shading technique used in anime style arts the most), but after this piece, I'm starting to like it, cuz goodness gracious, I'm loving that glow on her hair haha... think I'll do more of it in the future then :3

The Background

After I got closer to finishing the piece, I'd just wonder what kinda background I'd set for the image. Leaving it as a plain old white would make it look somewhat strange and since she's a character from the forest, I thought going for a green-jungle-ish background would work well for her...

Final Result

I also set a red border to the frame to fit her eyes and... TA-DA~

Reference

Also, here's the original Card art for Spirit of the Forest

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency