What's Different This Bear Market?...

I don't know about you guys, but I hope we will at least once in the future experience the worst of a bear market during the summer. I believe I'd bear such times easier than I do during the cold season.

The past couple of ones(bear markets) that I have been a participant to have all begun during winter, the whole year following being shitty as fuck, and the second winter of the bear season is even more painful than the one when the bear market actually started.

The problem with bear markets is that most of us are entering such contraction periods with little to no profit taken from the bull market, thus making such a season(the bearish one) such a painful one. Otherwise, these are nothing but insane investment opportunities for the next bull market.

The previous bull season's end took most of us by surprise because the tops we were waiting for didn't occur. We had no $100k BTC and no $10 HIVE to mark that... The levels most of us were expecting the market to peak.

20221213_08514302.jpeg

How long will this bear market last, though, is beyond my knowledge and ability to predict, but if it were to replicate the 2018-2019 one then it's something around 15 months from which we have already carried the burden of about 13 of them. But, if we are to replicate the 2014-2015 one then it's something like two years of scrapping bottoms which will be quite painful... at least to me.

But, the thing I want to tackle in this post is the difference between this bear market and the previous one and I'm not talking here anything about fundamentals and price action. I'm only detailing how I perceive these two and what have I done differently this time.

Again, both took me by surprise. However, during this current one, I managed to add some coins to my portfolio for the next bull season, a bag that is a bit bigger than the one that I got in 2018-2019. Back then I was more fearful than I am today and preferred to stay on cash longer than needed while "swimming with a small portfolio" through the shaky waters of crypto.

Now I decided to go more aggressively in the opposite direction and kind of drained my savings account for the sake of building myself a stack for the next bull market. I actually even bought a bit too soon into the market missing the current discounts, but I don't regret that. I regret more the fact that I didn't take enough profits in 2021, when I should have, and that I also nuked my crypto holdings with LUNA.

So, what's actually different between the two(2018 and 2022) is that now I had the courage to buy my own blood from the streets, but I pretty much drained my savings account doing that which makes times such as the current ones a bit stressful. If we'll be out of the woods in two-three months from now then I'll be OK, but if not, then I'm walking on thin ice...

Nevertheless, I have not lost any hope in crypto and what this technology stands for. Seeing what's happening in the world for a couple of years or so means that blockchain technology, Bitcoin, and projects such as Hive might be our lords and saviors...

What about you, what's different for you in this bear market?

Thanks for your attention,
Adrian

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency